Childcare with an Italian-American family in Milan, northern Italy

Country

Italie

Enregistré comme favori 60 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    12.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    95.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a single mom living in a suburb of Milan, Italy, with my two sons (9 and 13). I work from home as a translator and journalist. I am American while my kids' father is Italian, so they are perfectly bilingual. We live in a great town right outside of Milan that offers subway access (it's about a 15-minute walk or 7-minute bike ride) to the city. Our apartment is located near a great running/biking path along the canals that take you into Milan (yes, Milan has canals!) in one direction and out toward the lakes in the other direction.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aide à la maison

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I think our family is interesting because we are a mix of two cultures. However, because I've lived in Italy for so long, with my outsider's perspective, I have a really in-depth understanding of the country. In our house, we mainly speak English, but our habits are quite Italian. We eat together as a family, food is very important (I'm vegan though nobody else is so we cook a mix of things). Milan is a GREAT base for visiting a lot of other areas (the lakes, Switzerland, Venice, Florence, even Rome), and our town is super cute and has that cobblestoned Italian-town feel but with the big city a subway ride away. Where we live, you can walk or bike anywhere. Just FYI, I am fully vaccinated for Covid. My older son will soon be vaccinated though my younger son is not eligible.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    What I really need is another adult in the house to help out with the kids, especially my 9-year-old. There are times when I have to take my older son somewhere and therefore would need a babysitter for my younger son, for example. Due to my work schedule (I work from home), I am often working in the exact hours the kids get home from school so it would be helpful to have someone around in the afternoons to make sure homework gets done and to perhaps help in dinner prep. As the kids are older, it's more of a "child management" position as opposed to serious babysitting. The kids go with their dad two nights a week so there would also be plenty of down time as well. I also like the idea of my kids having another person to speak English to (as they go to school all in Italian) or even practice a new language. My older son is learning Spanish at school, and I used to live in Mexico and also speak some Spanish (it's pretty rusty though).

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have an apartment over two levels. Depending on the exact time frame, the person staying with us would either take over the lower level or would take a private bedroom upstairs. The apartment has two bathrooms so neither arrangement would include a private bathroom (one bathroom also serves as the laundry room so I would still need access to it regardless), but the exact accommodations would be discussed and clarified before the start date.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    It is very easy to get around here. In your free time, walk, run or bike on the path along the canals. Head into town for a gelato or a coffee. Take the subway into the city of Milan.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 675281385661