Join a family living on a farmhouse and discover Prince Edward Island, Canada

  • Enregistré comme favori 26 fois
  • Activité récente: 11 juil. 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine



  • Description


    We are a married couple, living our own little dream on the Eastern end of Prince Edward Island. A teacher and an early-childhood educator, we love to share with others, in hopes of creating positive communities and meaningful connections.

    Our life is blend of a little bit of everything: at home on our hobby farm we raise rabbits, chickens, quails, and other fowl, both for eggs and meat, and enjoy growing vegetables in our garden, raising fruits and berries (as best we can!) and tending to the trees. We work in the yard, build fences, repair the barn, prepare firewood for the winter, and keep busy with whatever else needs doing. We have two dogs, border collies named Charley and Shadow, and two cats, named Pablo and Puff, all of whom keep us busy too. Our home is a nearly 100 year old farmhouse, which means it has a personality of its own, too!

    But summer for us is more than just life at home, as we have a cabin in the woods, fully off-grid, where we like to socialize and spend time.

    I am an avid runner, hiker, explorer, yardsaler and story-teller, while my wife is most proud of her animals, her gardening, and her creative crafts. We formerly owned an antique shop together, which is reflected in our home, and we truly enjoy pursuing passion projects together.

    Our home is located very close to the famous Basin Head Beach, and is on the route of “The Island Walk”, which continues to grow in popularity. We are surrounded by forest, dirt roads, and wildlife, while remaining within sight of the coastline. Our part of the province is known for its rugged cliffs, sandy shores, endless beaches, and coastal scenery, such as lighthouses. Being on the easternmost tip of the Island, we are about one hour away from Charlottetown, and about 10 minutes away from the town of Souris.

    Having the flexibility of being off work for the summer means that we are able to enjoy our home, our community, and our Island, in whatever way we see fit. We are people who are open to meeting others, exploring new ideas, and sharing the world around us, and we would love for you to be part of another amazing summer on Prince Edward Island, and to help make it one to remember.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    There would be a lot of ways that travellers would learn and benefit from their experience with us, and in fact, we are uniquely suited for that, given our background in education. We speak fluent English and French, as well as Spanish.
    We are looking for travellers who like to make personal connections, and who would like to have a guide to show them all that Prince Edward Island has to offer.

    Whether it be learning culturally about Prince Edward Island, and meeting the unique cast of characters that we call friends, family, and neighbours, or exploring the natural and historical facets of the Island, we are well-suited to offering a ‘crash course’ in Island life, for those interested in such an authentic experience.

    Beyond that, we feel that travellers would learn hands-on skills, discover a unique culture, and most of all, explore what it is really like to live in a rural place, with a tight-knit community, where everyone knows everyone, and is happy to meet you.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    Living rurally of course brings its own scope of work, so what we are looking for is someone who is willing to be part of the family while they are here, and just pitch-in in whatever way suits us all. That could be doing yard and garden help, helping tend to animals, packing wood, working to spruce up the barn and buildings, cutting grass, or things like that.

    We have an off-grid cabin that we always enjoy working on as a hobby, and we are also involved in local non-profit community events, such as community dinners, local festivals, and events at the historical schoolhouse, all of which would be a fun way for you to get involved as well.

    Really, we aren’t too fussy about what gets done; instead we are looking for someone willing to join the team, help out, have fun, and make memories.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Korean: Débutant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    As an English teacher in our public school system, I am very happy to help other people learn English.

  • Hébergement


    We live in a lovely farmhouse, and we have spare bedrooms that we would be happy to offer. Thus, you would have your own room. There are two bathrooms/showers in the house as well, which of course you would have full access to. Laundry, kitchen, and all house facilities would be for you to share with us. We have a large property with a barn and shed, so there is no shortage of storage, either. We also own a very nice off-grid cabin, which you would be welcome to stay at when you like. Note, as above, that there are dogs and cats in the house, although the dogs aren’t allowed upstairs.

    We generally make breakfast on our own, and pack a lunch if we are away for the day, and then enjoy supper together in the evenings, around 6PM. We would love to have you prepare supper sometimes, if that was your interest, but it wouldn’t be required.

    There would be no smoking permitted in the house.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Prince Edward Island is an amazing place to be in the summertime, and there is so much going on, and so much to see and do. We would encourage you of course to take advantage of the beaches and the seafood while you are here, but also to get involved in real local things, like cooking lobsters, going to festival and live music, exploring the outdoors through fishing charters, clamboils, and bonfires, visiting our museums, gathering seaglass, taking daytrips, riding bikes, and so much more. Honestly, there is so much to do, and we hope you would take advantage of all of it!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    We have great wi-fi, with no connectivity issues.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    We have plenty of space to park, but no formal hookups.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    It would depend on how well trained the dog is, etc.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (but we don't work too hard if we don't have to)

N° de référence hôte : 661192238679

Feedback (1)


Seasonal bakery on the Sunshine Coast, BC, Canada
Exciting life with many projects in the countryside, Quebec Canada