Helping building a strawbale house in time for our baby's birth

Country

Portugal

Enregistré comme favori 153 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    31.08.2021

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    444

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Une semaine ou moins

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi,

    We are Lucy and Francisco and we've been living here for almost two years.
    Previously I was working in my cousins project (which is also our neighbor) but now I've been focusing more on our little piece of land.
    Lucy is pregnant, very pregnant, and I'm on a race against time to finish our small strawbale house in time for the baby's birth.
    We live in a beautiful part of Monchique and although you can still see the "scars" from last year's fire it is amazing to see how everything is recovering so well.
    I'm (Francisco) portuguese but I lived in the UK for seven years working on environmental conservation. Whilst living there I met Lucy which is a shoe maker and leather worker and then we decided to follow our dream of living in the countryside, breathing the good air and drinking fresh living water.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You'll be able to learn about natural building and hear from us and our neighbours what it is like to start a project like ours. We are one of 6 families living in neighbouring farms and sharing a common goal which is to recover the native forest of Monchique.
    You'll also benefit from drinking fresh, pure water and to have the best swimming pond at your disposal! That is on my cousins land but people are welcome to use it.
    Monchique is quite a magical place and has beautiful places to visit. Because of its hills, industrial agriculture never reached here and you'll still be able to see how people used to farm in the old days.
    The people from Monchique are incredibly friendly and the food is just amazing!
    45 Min drive away there are the most beautiful beaches in Portugal that we go to regularly so you'll be able to join us.

  • Aide

    Aide

    At the moment it's all about building. You will have to have an interest in natural building I guess.
    We are almost finishing the roof and then we will have to make interior walls using straw and clay and render the whole house with clay render on the interior and lime on the exterior.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    There's a tent you can stay in and we have air mattresses too. We've been living in a tent for the last few months too. We have an semi outdoor kitchen and hot shower.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Monchique is full trails that you can explore walking. The most beautiful beaches in Portugal are about 45 min away and in Spring/Summer we plan to go at least once a week. You will be welcome to join us.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





N° de référence hôte : 639166671717