Learn about permaculture gardening, helping us in Kornatka, Poland



Enregistré comme favori 79 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges


 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    We live on a farm in an old wooden house in a small village called Kornatka in Poland (about 1h ride from Krakow), we have guestrooms to offer during volunteer stay.
    We have a vegetable permacultural garden, a medium greenhouse and an orchard with apple trees and other fruit bushes.
    The house is situated next to the beautiful forest and not far from the lake. During the free time the volunteers can go for long walks, visit the lake and a castle in a nearby town- Dobczyce (6km away) or enjoy sightseeing in Krakow (1h away)
    If you're looking for a quiet peaceful place to rest and eat good food- it's in here :) We adjust the food to the needs (vegetarian/no lactose/no gluten)
    We earn the living by hosting various kind of workshops- the ones that help to self-improve spiritually, help the Earth in those difficult times, connected to Eco-living and living close to the nature- i.e. Native American culture and ceremonies.
    Because there is more and more need for places like ours- thus the need to expand, build new bathroom facilities, grow a bigger garden, and generally improve the place for more people to come and experience the healing and to unwind.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The volunteers can learn about Polish and Native American Indian customs and traditions. how to use various tools (mentioned above), learn about the permacultural gardening. For artistic volunteers we offer beadwork lessons and creative no-waste cooking sessions. For those needing peace and quiet- and a forest solitude- ours is the perfect place.
    I guess what would be most gratifying for me as a volunteer - is to become a part of something bigger, help, in a little way, the place, the group, the community, the Earth. Every little helps :)

  • Aide


    We need volunteers (men preferred) that have some experience using the hammer, a chainsaw, hedge-trimmer and other electric tools- wood processing related. No need to know how to use ALL those tools- we can offer a training in using the above.
    We also look for a help in the permacultural garden during the Spring and Summer time- weeding, digging the garden, working in the greenhouse, harvesting various kind of fruit and processing it.
    We have a little tractor-mower for volunteers to mow the grass in the orchard and around the house. It's fun!
    We're going to expand our room facilities and need also volunteers to help in general building activities- taking old plaster off and cleaning afterwards :) assisting in putting the new door and windows in, finishing touches on the new spaces. We don't need skilled workers, just willing and creative assistants to do the above tasks. Of course the experience is very much welcome!
    we have some particular projects for this year:
    - general garden activities- fruit picking, cleaning before autumn, weeding, watering, etc...
    - finishing off a small pond;
    - finishing the workshop space (wood-work);
    - renovating the bathroom (putting new door in and new dividing wall, etc);
    - building a chicken coop;
    Whoever is interested in any of the above- please let us know and THANK YOU!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Polonais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We offer proper guestrooms and a bathroom in a renovated barn. We provide beds with bedding, towels and food in exchange for 5h of help (the -hours can accumulate to give the volunteers full free days to enjoy and explore). We appreciate some help in preparation of the food (it can also be a good learning opportunity to learn new recipes)

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live a quiet life on a farm. We don't smoke or drink alcohol and ask the guests not to do it on our premises. We laugh a lot, We try to make everyone who comes here to feel like home. When we have guests- we take care of them as if they were part of our family. When we don't have guests we work on improving our facilities for the benefit of all arriving. We have 4 wonderful dogs and 1 cheeky cat. There are 3 people taking care of the farm- Sonia, Jacek and Ewa (Sonia's mom). Sonia is an online English teacher, an artist, creative cook and generally a do-it-all person. Jacek takes care of the garden, orchard and does some general building/renovating/improving jobs- he is the one who could really do with some help. Ewa is a retired English teacher, enthusiastic eco-gardener, amateur artist, and overall a wise woman- and also a Workaway host. Whoever comes to visit can have opportunity to help out in our and Ewa's fascinating place.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 615343298582