Have fun and learn about natural horsemanship with a retired, young at heart couple in Swinford, Ireland

Country

Irlande

Enregistré comme favori 180 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    11.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    76.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 38 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Please join us on our traditional Irish farm in beautiful County Mayo . We are Livvi & Ernie, a retired, young at heart, couple committed to caring for our wonderful traditional heavy coloured cobs and ponies and restoring the heritage buildings and land . Our family have been working and driving horses since 1740, so we have lots of experience to share and as practitioners of natural horsemanship are open to new ways of doing so your ideas and thoughts will be encouraged. All of our horses are ridden and driven bitless and are barefoot ie do not wear iron shoes. They are trained with compassion and understanding so the relationship between them and their handler is of extreme importance. If you have not experienced this before we guarantee it will be life changing. You do not need any experience with large animals just an open mind and willing disposition to have a go and help us with some of our projects and variety of tasks. Perhaps you would like to repair stonewalls, plant trees and flowers, build a shed or just spend time helping with our friendly equine friends. We have recently built a shepherds hut which has a decorative Romany interior so if you enjoy art and design this could be a project for you? We are a happy, cheerful and creative family and would greatly appreciate your help. In return we promise you a comfortable stay, good home cooking , time off for exploring and a great craic at the local pub.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Projets artistiques
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Based in the wild and rugged West of Ireland you will be surrounded by a traditional landscape and farming homesteads showing a, fast diminishing ,old way of life. People have lived and worked upon these lands for thousands of years. A culturally rich area surrounded by important places of interest such as the Irish Country Life Museum, Hennigans Heritage Centre, Foxford woollen mills, Michael Davitt centre , Coleman Music Centre and renowned Famine Museum etc etc. Mayo is surrounded by the historically rich and vibrant counties of Sligo, Roscommon and Galway with its superb coastline of the Wild Atlantic Way. Good transport links to Dublin city, the charming towns of Westport & Ballina are within easy reach and the wonderful city of Galway is just an hours bus journey away. The fascinating islands of Achill etc are well worth a visit as is a walk or spiritual pilgrimage to the summit of Croagh Patrick . If you would like to explore and extend your horizons we will help you in any way possible to reach these important places of interest.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We are happy to offer this experience to any travellers who are happy to get stuck in and have a go. Some of the tasks are quite physical so you will need to enjoy the outdoors and be ok with sometimes doing tasks alone or within a small group. If you possess basic building or DIY skills that would be beneficial for some of the restoration activities. If you have an interest in working and training horses that would also be helpful. We are always grateful for people who are experienced with horses. However if you are ore comfortable just using a paintbrush or sweeping the yard you are just as valuable so thank you.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Own room in an original 200 yr old Irish cottage. Internet access. Share large family bathroom and cosy living area with wood burning stove. Project is ongoing converting a second pre-famine stone house into accommodation for visitors so the old dairy may be ready for your stay.
    There is a large fully equipped family kitchen with dish washer, washing machine and dryer etc etc. We are willing to provide meals at no cost . If you would like to prepare your own food now and then to share your cuisine that is fine. We can accommodate vegetarians , vegans and special diets.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hrs per day . 4 days per week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)













N° de référence hôte : 584422892455