Join our family and be a companion to our children in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 25 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    01.07.2020

 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins un mois

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a Canadian (born and raised in Toronto) who has returned to Canada after a decade in Brazil. I came with my wife and two children to our family farm near Vasey, Ontario, in order to escape the deteriorating situation in Brazil. I am also professor of government & public administration, focused on anti-corruption and transparency policies, and work at one of Brazil’s best universities, the FGV-EBAPE. Currently I am working on publishing several articles and a book. My wife is from Minas Gerais, Brazil, an architect, and is preparing herself to do the Sloan Fellows MBA at MIT in June 2021 (God willing covid worries are contained). Our kids, Arthur 7 and Lis 3, are very nice and respectful children, bilingual in Portuguese and English, and love to be where we are: on a gorgeous 65-acre farm with a deep, clear swimming pond, trails in the forest that link up with the neighbors, and all the amenities of a fun place: trampoline, tetherball, basketball net, lots of bicycles, a big barn, swings, a shady hammock for reading, animals on nearby farms, etc. The farm is my mother’s, who also lives here and takes care of an extensive organic garden, while editing a novel she has written for publication. She is a marvelous cook and baker, very sweet, and we all pitch in to make this beautiful place tick. We also have a big, friendly dog, Ozzy.

    We are seeking someone who maintains a low-risk, limited circle of assocation, who would be able to help out around here, on a paid and room-and-board basis, especially with Arthur and Lis. So we are asking that someone help be a companion to the kids for 5-6 hours a day, and help out more generally. Someone from a French-Speaking country would be a bonus, but not necessary.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Pratique d’une langue
    Enseignement

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    The Michener family is as Canadian as Maple Syrup. We have a family history of public service, are avid canoe-trippers and outdoors people. We make great pancakes with blueberries! We will bring much Canadian culture to any workaway. My wife is as Brazilian as Feijoada and has a great love of her country. She too will try to endoctrinate any workaway regarding the virtues of Brazil, and especially Brazilian music. Her hope would be that people will eventually come visit us in Brazil. Our children speak fluent English and Portuguese. My mother is a wonderful cook and gardener, and would be happy to share her knowledge as well.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Engage with our children. Help them with homework. Be fun. Enjoy oneself in this magnificent setting. Help around the house and in the garden. Perhaps undertake small building projects.

    Our principal need is for childcare, 5-6 hours a day.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant
    Portugais: Courant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    We have a 2011 Gulfstream trailer with a kitchen, sofa, table, twin bunks and a dreamy double-queen bed and TV. It is very clean and is in a private, gorgeous setting about 30 meters from the house. It has running water and a toilet, although we ask that all guests do their heavier bathroom tasks in the house, where there are three bathrooms with hot water. The house is a large, 4-bedroom, 2-living room beauty with good WIFI.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I am an avid biker, and there are plenty of wonderful road and mountain biking opportunities around the area. Georgian Bay (part of Lake Huron), is also a 10-minute drive away and there are running/biking trails there. Sometimes we go to the beach on Georgian. The farm's trails offer great opportunities for foraging, bird-watching or running. Anyone who comes here would not necessarily need a car - we would be willing to help with transport, and we are very accommodating in general.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Max 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 552695139671