Come and learn about hobby farming in Felingwm, Wales, UK

Country

Royaume-Uni

mis à jour  

Enregistré comme favori 133 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    28.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Naomi. I have travelled a great deal and lived in West Africa, USA, Jamaica and several places in the UK. There is much you can tap into and learn from me, a global citizen, seasoned traveller and all round wise old woman! More round and old, but you get the picture. I have had the most wonderful working life and now, aged 58, I have retired and want to create a hobby farm in Wales. I have 2 adult children, who are busy in the city but they enjoy visiting from time to time.

    I bought this property in Feb 2021. Honestly some mornings I wake up and think, 'clever me!' and some days I think 'what have I f$*&ing done?'

    The farm has a cute renovated cottage, which I am extending and improving. You will not be asked to operate heavy machinery and I will be hiring local tradespeople for the main construction work. So you will be safe and have an opportunity to see work being done. You may also learn a thing or two about 'real-life' red tape and building control/regulation. But with none of the cost, headache or stress. Best of all worlds really.

    The farm has several outbuildings, which I will eventually convert to garages and a outside BBQ/party area. The BBQ/party area sits near a stream that cuts across the property, near the cottage. A good social place or a dry place to read/draw and contemplate or play music. The level area further in, with 4 shipping containers, is crying out to be used for something. I think a wine/mead/cider making area, honey preparation area and storage but that is still on the drawing board. In this section is a tired static which will replaced/relocated before becoming the volunteer 'home'. The area will become the pig area, probably next year. In the meantime I can offer a room in the cottage with wifi/internet or caravan parking space under cover with electricity or a tent.

    Further in the plot the land is sloped with some picnic tables and a lovely fire pit with seating. I am on the way to raising chickens/ducks (for eggs and eventually meat), 11 acres is rented out for sheep (and I have 2 of my own), a fruit/nut orchard, a fruit/veg kitchen garden with established polytunnel, a bee area and (latest project) setting up 4 allotments with a new polytunnel for use by fellow gardeners . The entire plot is just under 22 acres. A walk around the parameter is about 0.7 miles. You will be involved in piece-size garden/house projects, depending on your interest/experience and what is being developed at the time.

    So as you can see I have lots of ideas, a vision of sorts and hundreds of different projects! Which means there will be a variety of tasks, suited to different skills/people. You will make a contribution that you can see. Progress will depend on planning permission, availability of supplies/contractors, funding, weather and of course you!

    You'll be happy to hear that the kitchen is already in good working order and that I enjoy cooking simple, hearty, nutritious (I have a PhD in nutrition so this I do understand), home/basic meals. I am a meat eater but I try to be mindful of the animals' contribution so, for example, make stews which include lots of beans/veg/dumplings and often have vegetarian meals during the week. But I also enjoy hosting an occasional BBQ feast. I can cater for vegetarians, no problem. There will always be a yummy dessert. You will not starve and you may learn a secret recipe/technique or two!

    I am very interested in developing the hobby farm as a showpiece/model of this lifestyle as a viable retirement option. So you are more than welcome to vlog your stay to advertise and further explore my notion of an active/creative retirement plan! But please remember this is my retirement, so I will not be as active as someone younger.

    I am fully aware that you are my guest, and you could be elsewhere. You will be treated with respect and your contribution will be cherished. Thank you for reading and hope to hear from you soon.

    Naomi

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I only speak English. Happy to help you with learning that language.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Farm help is welcome to establish a turkey area, further clearing and landscaping, establishing two 'beach' areas by the river, fit out a wine/cider/mead making container, further develop the community allotment idea and moving stuff about. Later on I want to fit out the static and further extend a 'pick your own' fruit/nut option. I would prefer longer days helping on a specific task start to finish (where possible) and then you have days off so you can explore Carmarthenshire or further afield. It is best if you have your own vehicle as the bus system is not frequent. I do need time to recuperate, do my own projects (mostly around food storage and wine making) and think up new ideas. I think a couple would enjoy the stay as much as a single person. I am also happy to be an 'anchor' while you explore Wales and other workawayer opportunities.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    I am happy to share/correct English. I am not fluent in any other spoken/written language. However I haven't found a person on this planet that doesn't understand the language of 'cake/dinner is ready' or 'do/try as I am doing'. We will manage!

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    A static, with everything you would expect will eventually be available, but will not brand new. Watertight, clean/tidy and fairly basic. In the meantime I offer a comfortable double room in the cottage. I will cook lunch/dinner (usually from scratch) on full work days and can provide ingredients for breakfast and day trips or days off. Fresh eggs are available and home grown vegs/fruit are being harvested and go straight into dishes for consumption.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The village is small/quiet but has a daily bus service to Carmarthen (an extra service on Wed and Sat but none on Sunday). Carmarthen is 8 miles away, about 13-15 mins drive. Carmarthen has a good train service to other parts of Wales and UK.

    The neighbours are lovely and may get involved or be interested in progress. The local community centre come nursery is at the back of the cottage and occasionally 6-10, 3-5yr olds visit to see the chickens/ducks.

    The hill view is very relaxing and peaceful. Unfortunately the local pub is closed, but that may change. If you need noisy/busy entertainment this is not the place for you. If you long for fresh air, bracing hill walks and quiet reflection, with the sound of only a river in the background (and rather noisy ducks and Stan the cockerel) then you won't be disappointed.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is space to park within the boundaries and/or further into the land (across a small bridge and up an incline) for caravans/campervans/motorhomes and/or cars. Water/sewage and electricity connections can be offered. When the weather is warmer, there is space for tents.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    I have a friendly medium sized dog called Spanner, so dogs will be welcome. Unfortunately Spanners' life ambition is to eat a cat/squirrel/rabbit or bird, so we avoid those particular animals as much as possible! He is getting better but can be a complete (but very funny) idiot around the ducks and chickens! He is 9yrs old but still has moments of complete madness! Wonder where he learnt that from?

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.9)

Échange culturel: (4.1)

Communication: (5.0)
















N° de référence hôte : 544528317585