Help out our young family on our small farm in Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

Enregistré comme favori 37 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    28.06.2019

  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook

    323

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 10 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact S'inscrire
  2019 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    A small farm in Alberta, Canada. A young family with a toddler and a baby (and a cat). We raise cows, chickens, and rabbits, and would like to add sheep and pigs this year. We also have a large family garden (not for market this year). The animals are raised naturally, without antibiotics, steroids or other chemicals. This year I want to start applying Permaculture principles to our property, improve our composting, and build an earthen pizza oven.

  • Type d'aide

    Type d'aide

    Jardinage
    Construction
    Aide à la ferme
    Eco-volontariat
    Aide avec les animaux

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We are attempting to apply European farming practices to Canadian agriculture. This is rare and sometimes challenging. But it encourages us to be creative and always hopeful. It is a small farm with a taste of many different things, but not a heavy work load, so the experience will be broad without being hard work. We also enjoy the Alberta environment, and sometimes go camping, fishing, or hiking in the mountains and other areas.
    In our local area we enjoy friendship with many other types of farmers in our community centre. We are also near to 3 towns with various activities to do in the spring, summer and fall. Olds has a large arena where horse and agricultural events happen. Sundre has a rodeo every year, and Didsbury has many cute shops and a golf course to enjoy!
    We speak both English and Dutch with a good understanding of German.

  • Aide

    Aide

    Help to care for the animals' daily needs. Feed, water and move the chickens, clean the cows' pen and the sheep pen, help care for the garden with weeding, transplanting, and harvesting (maybe some of the preserving too). Some help with yard care, like mowing and watering the flowers. Possible help with harvesting hay. You will not be expected to do any of this alone, always with help or guidance from someone in the family. We may also have some fun building projects through the year (a new chicken house, a shelter for pigs, pizza oven, and other things).

  • Langues parlées

    Langues parlées

    English, Dutch, some German

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Accommodation will be in our holiday trailer, which is connected to power and water, so you can use the washroom and cook if you want to. You are welcome in our home to shower, eat with the family, and spend time with us. We have wi-fi but no television or home phone (just cell phones). There is room to sleep up to 4 people in the holiday trailer, but it is most comfortable with 2. We will provide food and transportation to local areas. If you wish to drive our vehicles please inform us ahead of time.

  • Autre chose...

    Autre chose...

    We live in Central Alberta, close enough to enjoy Calgary, the Rocky Mountains (towns like Banff and Canmore are only 2 or so hours drive), and many areas in Rural Alberta between Calgary and Red Deer. You can even see the mountains from our house! Edmonton is 3 hours away but could be enjoyed on a weekend.
    There will be a newborn baby so that might impact the working schedule. If you want to help with the children it will be welcome, but not required. We like to keep things flexible and easy-going, but we will have some daily and weekly goals that we want to meet, so sometimes we work together on the weekends to finish projects. We will not expect you to be involved in all of our projects and you will be free to enjoy your weekends however you choose.
    We live close to 2 neighbours so there will be lots of activity around the property. It is usually quiet at night though, and we ask you to respect that.
    No alcohol may be consumed before supper time. We also have a smoke-free home. We ask that if you do smoke, to do so outside only.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



N° de référence hôte : 524376969326