Welcoming people to help us in a beautiful and remote part of the West-Fjords, Iceland

  • Enregistré comme favori 1472 fois
  • Activité récente: 19 avr. 2024

Disponibilité

  2024 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    A small family owned farm with 30 milking cows, 60 cattle, some sheep, chickens, a cat and a dog is looking for some help.
    Day to day activities are run by farmer Steini, who has been helped by me, Erla, (his niece) and my partner for the past years. As we are relocating in the capital with our toddler, we are looking for Workawayers to help Steini out on the farm in our absence. The farm has been in our family for generations and is the westernmost milking farm in Europe.

    The farm is mainly a dairy farm. The help is mostly taking care of our cows and calves, milking twice a day, feeding the cows and maintaining their well-being.
    We keep some chickens for eggs for ourselves, as well as a little greenhouse which operates in the summer. The farm also has a weather observation station as well as it overlooks a breeding ground for the arctic tern and eider duck.
    Our dog, Birta (Border collie) is very friendly and active, likes to play fetch and help as she can around the farm.
    Please note that the work around here is quite physical as we do much by hand and it also demands an empathy for animal behaviour.

    We believe in slow living, living in harmony with nature and animals and a sustainable life. Therefore, we do our best to live off our land whilst protecting the environment. Alongside the farming we grow vegetables, herbs in our greenhouse and experiment with different dairy products for the household with our milk.
    Our animals are a part of our family, they each have names most often given to them because of their personality, colour or current events around the time they were born for example. We love to cuddle them and treat them with the utmost respect and care.
    Please note that we have a minimum of two months stay (preferably longer). We offer free accommodation, meals and pay standard wages for all hours worked.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We welcome anyone who is interested in getting to know the way of life in this very isolated yet stunning place and how we mix traditional survival methods of our ancestors with modern way of living.
    You will be able to experience living in close proximity with amazing nature, near the red sands of Rauðisandur. You will gain experience in on a farm, taking care of and getting to know animals, and milking cows. As it's a quiet isolated farm you'll get an opportunity to learn much about cattle behaviour and their personality, a species we believe to be one of the most wonderful in the world!
    Staying at Lambavatn you will experience living in an area not many people visit. The surrounding area is full of amazing and beautiful Icelandic landscape, you will learn to respect the juxtapositions of Iceland, the quiet and the magnificent power of nature.

  • L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    L’hôte offre un salaire correspondant au salaire minimum

    Cet hôte offre l'hébergement et une rémunération.

    L’hôte a indiqué qu'il paierait au moins le salaire horaire minimum de son pays pour chaque heure travaillée et que l’hébergement serait fourni. Il demande de l'aide dans le cadre de son entreprise ou activité professionnelle. Contactez l'hôte directement via la messagerie du site pour en savoir plus et avoir des détails sur le salaire proposé. Tous les arrangements devraient être conclus à l'avance avec votre hôte.

  • Aide

    Aide

    You will help us with our day to day tasks such as:

    Taking care of the cows, milking twice a day includes washing and applying milking machines, feeding them and keeping the stable clean. You will be responsible for quality milking technique of certain cows.
    Feeding the calves milk.
    Helping with the chickens - they need to be fed and the water changed daily. Eggs should be collected and the hen house closed properly for the night, with all the chicken inside.
    Other incidental events such as herding the animals, moving them between the two stables here, helping with delivery of calves and more.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Icelandic: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have a room in the main house with Steini. There is a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom with a shower, a living room with a sofa and TV, and a small bedroom for Workawayers, so it’s perfect for a couple. Please know that the phone connectivity and wifi is not as stable as in other parts of Iceland.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The farm is located at Rauðisandur on the south coast of the Westfjords, one of the most beautiful and wild parts of Iceland. The beach at Rauðisandur is renowned for yellow/reddish sands, beautiful scenery and magnificent mountains around.
    The nearest village is Patreksfjörður and is about 40 km from the farm with a mountain to cross so consider spending most of the time around the countryside of our farm but seeing as it has countless possibilities of outdoor adventures with the red sand and mountains we believe one couldn’t be at a better place. Enjoy your free time walking around the area, reading, relaxing and soaking in the magnificent countryside.
    Trips to nearby attractions are also possible so we recommend anyone considering staying with us to have a driving license.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    30-40 hours a week

N° de référence hôte : 491489883237

Feedback (5)



Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Family would welcome an extra pair of hands in Akureyri, Iceland
Easy-going family in the countryside, Bæjarsveit, west Iceland