Sustainable mountain life in the small village of Poiana Ruscai, Romania

Country

Roumanie

mis à jour   Last minute

Enregistré comme favori 13 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    23.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 5 jours

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
Offre "last minute" : besoin d'aide urgent, tout de suite, mais aussi à d'autres périodes de l'année.
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Volunteers from Ucraine will have priority. We will do our best to acomodate any family that needs help.
    We are both vacinated and can host anyone, vacinated or not.

    Adrian and I have moved here in 2020, after 9 years in London, to see if we can live this challenging life while, we hoped, the world was coming back to normal. We are still here, still wondering if this life is what we want. Learning every day, getting better by making mistakes; which is, we believe, the fastest way to learn. We hope to share everything we experienced in our transition, from the big city to the small village. We do our best to be present in the moment and true to ourselves while doing the actions that lead to more sustainable living; hoping to positively impact the nature around us and our neighbors. We hoped to get back to the roots since 2015 when we acquired a house in the countryside - but we were scared of this idea of being at the mercy of nature, eating only what we can raise and grow ourselves; it took a worldwide lockdown to bring us here.

    The farm is in the Poiana Ruscai (Carpathian Mountains) in the west of Romania, along the banks of the tributary Cerna. We live in a scattered village, an annex to the small town of Lunca Cernii de Jos, which is about 10 minutes away by car. Traditionally, it is primarily a livestock-growing area, and there are many small to medium farms of cattle and sheep. There are also many small subsistence farms. It is a beautiful area for hiking in the nearby mountains and swimming in the fast-flowing but shallow Negoi river, a 2-minute walk from the house. The land is easily accessible by car and bus (there is a bus stop right in front of the farm) as it is on national road DJ687D. The village is situated 20 miles away from Cincis Lake, an amazing place to visit in the summers, and 30 miles from Hunedoara.

    Monday and Fridays there is a bus leaving to Hunedoara and returning in the afternoons, which you can take to visit Corvins' Castle, a very beautiful local attraction, or you can go to Fortress which is another 20 minutes away from Hunedoara. The house is surrounded by very nice farms, owned by elder farmers who love to share their experiences with anyone willing to listen.

    We produce for ourselves and share the exes with neighbors and friends, we don't sell or make an income from the farm. his year we hope to offer our excess veggies to a children's house in Hunedoara, this is so we can help them and also make sure we don't waste anything. Last year we had an excess of lettuce that was to much eaven for your large extended family, so chikens got to enjoy some of that... Hopefully this year we are better organised and will make use of all our vegies for human consumption...

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Pratique d’une langue
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    In summer, we make hay, if you are interested you can learn - scything (mowing grass by scythe - hand tool, no engine), drying and stacking hay in a special way outdoors with no cover to preserve it for winter, we don't use any industrial chemicals in our hay or any part of our land. Basic or medium woodworking and Cutting wood logs and arranging them for winter. Wood maintenance basic works - painting, sanding, etc. Helping with preparing homemade liquors, jams, syrups, winter pickles. Picking local plants to dry for tea and health. Besides this, long cultural discussions, we love to share with anyone all we know about our wonderful country - we love meeting people.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We need help with the garden from weeding to preserving our harvest, making hay, and chopping firewood. Work in the orchard, mainly keeping away the weeds and planting new trees. A lot of things still need to be designed and built. We hope to build a tire structure soon, we already started to bring tires from the city every time we need to visit the city.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Romanian: Courant

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    We will like to learn Spanish, French, and German

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Volunteers will stay in the same sweet old house with us, having all the comfort we also enjoy.
    Hot water is heated by the sun, so showers are only available on hot sunny days, otherwise, a small bath and a pot on the stove are used to wash.
    Outhouse for now but we hope to do an indoor compost toilet soon...
    During the winter months, we have a spare double bedroom, which is a room with a table for your laptop and a side table on both sides of the bed.
    We also have an extendable couch in our living room if you prefer or you are joining us with your friends.
    The house is heated by a wood-burning fireplace in our living room.
    For the volunteers who'd like to stay in tents during the summer season, there is plenty of space in our orchard. Please check with us if tents are available or you need to bring one with you. Phone/laptop charging, basic internet.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The area where we are is excellent for hiking, mountain biking, rock climbing and caving. We practice all that with joy in our free time or whenever we feel like it. We hope to learn guitar playing and we love drawing and dancing.
    The closes city has, in my opinion, the best castle in Romania, Corvin Castle, this is 45 km away from us, there is also a nature reserve 10km away.

    There is a monastery that is very famous in Romania just 50km away.

    There is a bus on Mondays and Fridays that you can take in the morning and return in the evenings, to go to the closes city and enjoy a day of city life when you feel like it.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Decent Wifi connection using a 4G phone. We can stream Netflix with no problems. A separate room to use when you are working is provided.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    There is plenty of space to park a campervan on our property, the road takes you to our land, no issues getting here with a campervan or a normal car.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    We have an independent cat of our own, if your pets are friendly we welcome them to our farm.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 475274968837