Help with childcaring and enjoy Italian summer holidays near Milan



Enregistré comme favori 49 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • facebook friends

    Nombre d'amis Facebook


  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

  • Description



    My name is Ivonne, I live with my family near Milan, I'm an English teacher and I need a Volunteer to help me with my daughters in the period June-July.

    Elisa is nearly 10 and Ilaria 8 and they are growing bilingual Italian-English. They are mostly passive bilingual. This means they understand all but not very willing to reply on their own yet, unless necessary. This is why I am looking for a workawayer to practice English with them.

    Due to some family changes, this year we need a Volunteer to stay with us in Milan. You will spend most of your time with the girls either at home (hottest hours maybe), around the town or near River Ticino. You will be part of our family as I love to have foreign company, I'm a talkative person and I love to know a lot about you. Some days I will spend most of the time with you, other days I will be busy working and you will stay just with the girls. During the night, you will be accommodated not far from my house, as unfortunately here in Milan I don't have a spare room to give to you. However this will allow you to have a full independency when you need it, as we can agree on free hours or days for you to visit Milan and the surrounding area or studying or just "be on your own". You can also meet other Workawayers in Milan, but you will have to take care of the train connections. During the weekend, feel free to stay with us and have a trip together also with my husband or take your time to visit other northern towns such as Verona, Venice or Turin.

    I am looking for a single volunteer. I need an extremely independent and comfortable with children person, as I trust my daughters very much and like them to be free of my constant supervision, but of course you will be responsible for them. They will not run away from you or cause you discomfort, but you must be confident in spending engaging hours with two little girls in a foreign country. Please note that I am a workawayer too (yes, I volunteer with my daughters too) so I know what to offer to you as a host but I also understand your needs as a person visiting a new country. However, I need a person able to be in charge of him/herself, trustworthy and creative, someone who can enjoy a simple walk downtown for an ice-cream but also able to make the day indoor when the weather turns bad. Elisa and Ilaria spend most of their time playing together, so sometimes your duty is just to keep an eye on them (at the playground for example), but since I need them to practice their English, I must be sure you are able to settle in their play and encourage them to speak with you.

    I am willing to make your stay with us enjoyable and pleasant for all of us. If something bothers you, just say it. Any request, just ask. You have to be open hearted, lively, interested in learning about our culture and willing to share with us your own experiences. You must like playing, singing and listening to music, reading, drawing and board games! Make it fun for yourself and the girls.

    We are ready to share with you all our meals, from breakfast to dinner, in the very Italian way! I like to cook fresh, my repertoire is quite simple but mostly healthy and in any case you are free to cook for yourself or eat whatever you like. We are not vegetarian or vegan, we are fine with any dairy and I prefer someone who has no allergies or special dietary requests, at least nothing which may harm your own life! Food is fully included in my exchange, as I will be happy to welcome you as a member of the family, unless you ask for caviar every day!

    Upper-intermediate - advanced English speakers or native speakers are needed. If your aim is to learn or improve your Italian, we may not be the right choice for you, as I need you to speak English with the girls. If you want to improve your English, we can enjoy endless conversations together!

    No smokers, please! We have cats, hope you don't mind!

    NB: I upload many pics, hope these will help you to get the right idea about us!

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Pratique d’une langue

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Sharing your time with us as a family will allow you to participate to the life of a traditional Italian family.
    I'm an open hearted person, I love having people around, I talk a lot and like to listen to people's stories. I consider myself open to the whole world, I hate judging people, I like sharing ideas on life itself, from politics to education. Every person has something to give and take, and this is what I try to pass to my daughters. Exchanging experiences is something you don't learn on books, you must live life!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    You are required to childcare 4-5 hours 5 days a week. If you prefer a full day off, we can agree.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Italien: Courant

  • Hébergement


    You will have a small one bedroom apartment not far from my house. Kitchen available there upon request, but my own kitchen is at your full disposal. I prepare meals for the whole family and you will be included in the list and in the menu, unless you prefer to eat on your own or something we don't normally cook. The washing machine is at your disposal, but if you prefer you can just add your things to our laundry.

    Wi-Fi connection available. TV possible.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Milan doesn't really need to be introduced, I will be happy to take you there if you like or be free to visit it on your own. We live southern of Milan, in the town of Abbiategrasso. This town has a rural history and I will be happy to introduce it to you. We are in the green landscape of Milan, but enough close to the city to enjoy its more lively life, too. We have a train and bus connection to Milan centre which will allow you to reach any other part of Italy.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 464516429685