Learn about food foresting and help care for pets on the highest hill of an Aeolian island, Sicily, Italy

Country

Italie

Enregistré comme favori 41 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    09.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    95.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Un mois ou plus

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live in a big Aeolian house on the highest hill of Lipari, the biggest island of the Aeolian Archipelagos, facing the Western coast of Sicily.
    After more than twenty years of work in international cooperation, I have decided to stop here and discover a different way of life - the dream of me and husband, Chris, who passed away in 2018.
    The house has been recently restored, and has two independent rooms with en-suite bathrooms, and a dependance with a kitchenette.
    It is surrounded by around 3000 square meters of wild Mediterranean land, which I started to cultivate with an orchard and fruit plants - following the principles of food foresting, and bio agriculture.
    I live here all year long, with two dogs (Charlie and Faber) and a cat.
    The property is located in a very peaceful area, where silence, the sunsets and dark skies full of stars are enjoyable all year long - together with powerful winds, the salty mist rising from the sea, and a whole range of wild inhabitants of nature.
    During summer I host guests. I also host musicians organising concerts here, dear friends, and dreamers.

    I am part of a volunteer organization, promoting the respect for the environment, the protection of civil and social rights for everybody, and a sustainable and responsible interaction with the land and the sea; in particular, I am involved in activities organised with local social services.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    You would have the chance to know and enjoy in-depth life on a small Mediterranean Island, and be involved in a community of enthusiastic and friendly people organising activities aimed at improving everyone's quality of life.
    You would learn how to apply natural cultivation techniques, eat natural products from the land and the sea, and share your agriculture knowledges if you have some.
    You would enjoy the company of two affectionate and energetic dogs, and an independent and funny cat.
    If you are interested, we can also organise sessions of Italian language and I would enjoy learning more of your language.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I would like to find help mainly to take care of the land - including maintenance works, grass cutting, planting trees and reorganising the orchard, and other minor tasks; keep the house clean; and taking good care of my dogs and cat when I travel for a few days/weeks.
    More importantly, I would enjoy telling and hearing stories from people who share the need to find peace and harmony with the environment they live in, in front of good meals and a glass of wine.
    I would prefer guests staying for a period of two-three months at a time.

  • Langues

    Langues parlées
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Intermédiaire

    Cet hôte propose un échange linguistique
    Cet hôte a indiqué qu’il souhaitait faire partager sa propre langue ou en apprendre une nouvelle.
    Contactez-le pour en savoir plus.

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    You will have an autonomous double room, with en-suite bathroom and and a terrace leading to the garden. A very good wi-fi network is available in all the rooms. Satellite TV and DvD player are available in the sitting room of the main house. You would have free access to the kitchen facilities, sharing meals with me or cooking your food if you prefer.
    I will provide most of the food, and reimburse you on expenses you would have if you need extra food.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    The house is located 10 kms away from the main village (Lipari), and 5 kms away from the nearest beach, and the nearest food supermarket. A bus is reaching the house, but you would have use of a scooter (Vespa) and of my car (Landrover Freelander) when I am away.
    During your stay you can enjoy the coast of the island and long walks on its numerous tracking paths, visit other islands by boat (aliscafo) and organise weekend trips to Sicily (unless you need to stay in Lipari to take care of the pets, if I am travelling).
    You might also have the chance to be involved in cultural/social events that I organise with my volunteer group.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Rooms have a working desk, and other tables are available in common spaces. The wifi network covers the entire house and is pretty reliable. From time to time power cuts affect the island (especially in winter during storms) but they are generally fixed in a few hours.

  • Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Possibilité d'accueillir les animaux

    Cet hôte a dit qu’il acceptait les personnes voyageant avec un animal.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


N° de référence hôte : 345181658724