Voyageurs, soyez les bienvenus chez nous en Tasmanie - aidez-nous à construire notre maison



Enregistré comme favori 91 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Badges

    Super Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

  • Description


    *️*️ We would love to host a single or a couple for around two weeks between now and Christmas *️*️

    We are a friendly family of 5, mum (Amanda), dad (Greg) and three children aged 9, 6 and 5.
    We moved to Tasmania in 2013 from mainland Australia and spent 4 years building our own house and shed with the help of Workawayers and other travellers. It is on 10 acres of beautiful bushland. We have just recently moved in, and have lots of ideas and projects to work on now! Greg works full time while Amanda looks after the children, does the school run and works from home part time.
    We have both travelled a lot in lbk (life before kids!!). In fact we met while Amanda (English) was backpacking through Asia and Greg (Australian) was working there.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme
    Projets artistiques

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Whilst Amanda is English, Greg more than makes up for it being a true Aussie! We are a fairly typical Aussie family who work and play hard, have great links with our community and enjoy a good BBQ and beer.

    Previous guests have been to assembly at school, many have joined us at lunches with friends with diverse backgrounds and opinions and we've talked about all sorts of subjects comparing Australia and our guests home countries!

    We love to learn as much as we can about you and your country and to share our Australian life and traditions with you!

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    The work part of your stay would be helping us on one of our long list of projects on our 10 acre block, or helping around the house. We have plans to build another shed, a cubby house, a chicken home, a BBQ area and maybe even a zip line! There is also lots of day to day tasks around the house and land like spraying weeds, mowing, cleaning and sorting too! We are open to any artistic ideas around our land and we volunteer with a few groups who are always in need of helping hands too.

    We usually look for people to stay between 2-4 weeks, but are flexible! Previous helpers who worked on our house while we were building it have painted, helped put up the roof and cladding, filled in screw holes, built a deck, put the roof on, painted and sanded doors and many many other tasks. It's been wonderful working with so many great people many of whom we have stayed in touch with :-)

    We look for people who are keen to join in and experience our family life and activities. We love to have bonfires, entertain our friends with BBQ's over a few beers and play cards in the evenings or watch movies. We regard our guests as part of our family and love having people who like playing with the kids (princesses, lego, video games anyone?!) We love our area which has fantastic walks and bike rides along the beautiful Tamar River and we will show you around when we can.
    We welcome single travellers or couples. Good English language is preferred so we can enjoy your company.

    There are wallabies, rabbits, echidnas, possums, blue tongue-lizards and bush turkeys on our 10 acres and we can pretty much guarantee that you'll see some of the above during your stay!

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Français: Débutant

  • Hébergement


    Accommodation is in our newly built house in a room of your own that has a double bed in it. You will also have your own bathroom.

    You must enjoy being around young children and have a 'chip in' attitude as were are a busy and noisy young family :-) Hopefully you'll enjoy that and have a good laugh with us too.

    We have excellent internet coverage and speed here too.

    The bus stop to Launceston and Exeter is a 20 minute walk away, but the service is limited (generally peak hours only on week days), so you need to be prepared for a rural location. I regularly travel to Exeter and wouldn't mind giving lifts when I do and we have one decent bike that you could borrow too. I am happy to pick up and drop off from Launceston on arrival and departure.
    We have had a couple of helpers with their own vans/transport which has worked really well too giving you a little more freedom, this is a bonus, but not at all necessary if you are flexible about spending your stay mainly in our lovely rural community.
    We eat our evening meal together as a family at 5.30pm. We love having company and are enjoying meeting people and exposing our kids to other nationalities and customs! Most of our helpers have cooked us a meal from their country. We've made some great friends through hosting.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live in Northern Tasmania on the Tamar River. There are many vineyards in the local area and water front walks (right out the front of our house), beaches, rural towns and tourist attractions, though you would need a vehicle to get to most of them.
    We are 35 minutes north of Launceston on the banks of the Tamar. We live in a rural community (no nightclubs or McDonalds nearby!).

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    4-5 hours

N° de référence hôte : 312566539895