Help an easy-going couple to finish off our house near Mortain, France

Country

France

Enregistré comme favori 4 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    18.01.2020

 
  2020 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins 1 semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple of early retired teachers from Yorkshire, England. We are easy-going, jolly people who will be hospitable and kind. I speak reasonable French and Helen is making good progress. As retired teachers, we have experience of language teaching and staying with us would provide an excellent opportunity to improve your English skills. Sadly, we are both smokers.
    We live in the Manche departement of Lower Normandie, France. We are situated about 4 kms from the small town of Mortain (banks, supermarkets, cinema, restaurants etc.). The nearest railway station is Vire (22 kms), there is a bus service linking Vire and Avranche (32 kms) via Mortain. We travel to Mortain most days so lifts are generally available.
    We live an attractive rural area with three neighbours.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Entretien général

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    As retired teachers, we have experience of language teaching. I have experience of teaching conversational English and anyone wanting to improve their language skills would benefit greatly from staying with us
    We live in a beautiful rural area of France. The countryside is attractive and there are several local tourist sites to visit, the waterfalls in Mortain, lovely walks on the local forest and pretty French towns with wonderful markets.

  • Aide

    Aide

    We moved into our house in February 2019. Although the house is comfortable and has finished bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen, there is still much to do. We have land and three horses, the land has been neglected and there is work still to be done, fencing, logs tidying etc. But our most pressing need is to help in the construction of a French drain. We have had much rain here over the last month and living on a hill, much water has collected around the house and needs to be drained away. We have made a start but help is needed! We are quite well-equipped with tools, both manual and power. There is also work to be done in the house; relaying a wooden floor, decorating and odd bits of plumbing, simple electrics and woodworking. We are hard-working but enjoy the work, we are not without skills but extra help is always useful.

  • Langues parlées

    English: Courant
    French: Intermédiaire

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    Your bedroom is on the first floor, cosy, a lovely bed, TV, wi-fi and great views. There is a bathroom with a shower downstairs. You will have access to our kitchen and will expect it to be tidied after use
    We will provide breakfast, lunch (soup or bread pate or cheese) and a hot evening meal. We are meat eaters. We will provide simple soft drinks, tea and coffee but not alcohol on a regular basis. It will be expected that if you want snacks, chocolate etc, you provide them yourselves. Similarly, we will provide basic toiletries, toilet roll, soap, shower gel etc, anything more fancy including toothpaste will be your responsibility.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    This is our first experience of Workaways and we are really looking forward to the whole process, we are an easy going happy couple who have a good sense of humour and enjoy meeting people from different cultures and life experiences.
    We're pretty laid-back, we work hard during the day and go to bed quite early. If you choose to stay with us, do not expect a wonderful night life, life is pretty simple here, emphasis here is on decent food, drink and conversation.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 288645389664