Come help us and experience the beautiful Guadalest valley between Alicante and Valencia, Costa Blanca, Spain

  • Enregistré comme favori 337 fois
  • Activité récente: 11 avr. 2024



 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines



  • Description


    Welcome, my name is Gabrielle.

    My only goal here was to establish a distinctive Bed and Breakfast experience, one that is a welcoming home for myself, family, friends visitors to enjoy “a home away from home” filled with eclectic furniture and collectables handed down from family generations, my own travels and life experiences to allow each room to have its own style and story to share. 20+yrs later I now believe the finca magic would be more suitable as a small retreat centre for like minded people wanting meditative, yoga, artistic nature and fitness oriented workshops with the great energy of 360 surround mountain horizons, scattered quaint villages and a glimpse at the Mediterranean Sea... By summer 2024 I would like to complete my vision and have the property fully established, turn key operation ready for service.

    For those interested, most important is to know the property is entirely "off grid". This means all electricity is supplied by solar panels/battery banks/ backup generators which results in consumption limitations. Spring water is piped and stored in a water quality tank for our house needs and rest transits in the "balsa". In summer the limited hot water sanitary supply is provided by solar system and in winter by cranking up a gasoil boiler. The casitas are on a separate year round butane heated hot water systems. During the winter, heating is with traditional wood burning stoves. Though abundant amount of trees are on the finca, reality of stoking all the wood burning stoves is the result of many hours of previous year pruning followed up with ongoing winter chainsawing and heaving wood for usage/storage. Anyone who comes here must be willing to adapt to living with above factors always in mind and finca is not for night owls or late risers.

    For those working online is the recent installation of Starlink satélite internet system throughout buildings which seems to work for normal needs (tough I do not use it for more than email, whatsap and Youtube myself for have no idea how to upload pics which is reason why no new ones have posted since a friend put some on in 2019.

    To anyone interested please be fully aware that all outdoor tasks done on finca involve physical disposition and endurance either due to nature of tasks on mountainous clay hillside grounds and/or seasonal heat/wind/cold weather factors.

    The finca has also been a loving home to many abandoned/abused animals. We currently have 3 dogs, 2 cats, an outdoor aviary of parakeets and 2 donkeys, the indispensable ecological grass cutters and never ending munching/mulching larger pets, Hercules and Valentino.

    Personally I choose as much as possible to be outdoors doing whatever is needed daily on routine or emergency basis. What some consider “my daily hard work” is my joyful expression of life.

    However reality is that this is certainly not a life style for everyone, and is only suitable for those drawn to nature, open minded in finding new visions to recycle and upcycle and turn a stay on the finca into a unique creative experience thibnking "out ofd the box" on daily basis.

    In advance I thank those avid animal/nature lovers with happy mind set, gifted with working hands and spirit, to take part in shifting my finca visions into a manifested reality.

    I must conclude that best of all is that to date 99% of “workawayers” created very wonderful shared memories.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et construction
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    When I relocate I tend to embrace the unknown, status quo or labels unsettled me. I am high energy, creative, love colour, uniqueness and am passionate about giving old/discarded items a renewed right to glory. I have done "distress paint effects", “shabby chic”, “up cycling” and more, long before all became fashionable trends. I will gladly share my 40 years of techniques working with you so to turn more concepts into reality: indoors and out!
    I am a “people person”, but absolutely need my time alone... with pets! I choose to actually live my own life verses endless theories of what life should be about. I love good humour, out of the box positive thinking and the puzzle solving approach. I never fail to appreciate the beauty and complexity of nature. Due to the variety of world cultures and circumstances, I do not endorse any single vision, philosophy or religion as the only established way of living.

    Aside from the above, with my 20 years’ experience of working my way through the constantly changing labyrinths of the Spanish administrative systems (customs, property purchase, owner's rights, municipal permits, tourism rules and regulations etc..) I could possibly give insight on what to look out for anyone interested in a longer term stay in this country, am always an eager worker myself and can speak to you in English, French or Spanish depending on your preference.

  • Aide


    - Small building projects needs competent carpenter to help build pergolas and small roof (nothing dangerous only a 2m high on low side to 2.50m high side) structures, and/or a creative builder for standard cement work and/or stone work and creative project tiling guest house patio in mixture of mosaic to standard lay out..
    - General electrical abilities always welcomed to finish some incomplete projects .
    - General plumbing abilities welcomed for small house plumbing improvement or maintenance.

    All in all this is certainly not a beginner's site, I truly require some genuine competent knowledge and experience whihc can be compensated according to results accomplished .

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Courant
    Français: Courant

  • Hébergement


    There is a 30m2 open plan individual casita (single or double occupancy) with kitchenette and bathroom and bed/ bathroom linens are supplied and weekly clothes washing facilitated. On certain occasions a single workawayer may prefer to share main house facilities of main house and stay in private ensuite bedroom of said building.

    Food wise have done different methods: pre agreed cash amount for weekly food allowance and workawayer does own shopping, or I can do the shopping within said budget. Generally I provide restock basic requirements: tea/coffee/milk, bread/oats, butter/peanut butter/jam, pasta/rice/potatoes, legumes/eggs and seasonal fruit and veggies. Other beverages, meat/fish and special needs or greater quantities are according to inspiration or workawayer responsibility. Due to variety of food likes or restrictions I have found it better for meals to be self catering by Workawayers though we can have a social get together from time to time.

    I cannot insist enough on the imperative need to respect our “off grid “energy usage requirements. This means learning to live with reduced or limited electricity, heating and water consumption. This is especially important in winter month where the need to live on daylight routine is imperative and not keep bulbs running in bedrooms all night long.
    There is no objection to smokers though I request no Smoking inside bedrooms and specifically stipulate not being under the influence of illegal drugs or alcohol during our working time and always with respectful behavior to anyone on the finca in one´s own time and space.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We agree together on schedule with mutual understanding of need to adapt tasks to weather and supplies at hand. Evenings are always free for ur R&R time.

    The property is large. The buildings and grounds have been designed to optimise privacy. The Guest House residents have exclusive use of their terraces.
    In and around the main house and its adjacent terraces, we kindly request respect of our privacy, as our dogs consider these areas their “base camp” and "duty to guard". No dogs ever allowed in bedrooms either and given the animosity between cats and dogs careful organisation is carried to ensure there are no conflicts.

    Depending on your own activity level the following is available right outside the gate:
    Hiking: ample selection, long or short trails, with varying levels of challenge or upkeep.
    Cycling: requires strong ability for hill climbing and need for own bicycle.
    Fishing: catch is carp, rumours of black trout.
    Water activities: Experienced swimmers can enjoy our "balsa" a deep garden water holding tank, and/or adventure into open water swimming in the dam at own risk.
    Guadalest swimming pool a 20 min walk away only available in July/August for a daily fee. Its adjacent short basket ball court/soccer area is free and opened year round.
    Rock climbing: 2 marked routes off public swimming pool road.

    Socialising: the local villages offer cafes&bars, restaurants, markets& shops. They have seasonal hours and activities. Most villages are easily accessible along footpaths (30min minimum walk). The local villages are fairly active in summer months but a bit lost town feeling out of public holidays the rest of the year.

    Transportation: There is very little public transport available within the valley of Guadalest. Having own vehicle is a definite advantage!
    Private taxis can be arranged from Benidorm though tariff is based on driver’s round trip fare. If a workawayer is flying training or busing into Alicante or Benidorm, I go and pick them up upon arrival.
    Long distance buses are available to Alicante, Valencia town and airports and other destinations. The Alicante airport is an hour away/ Valencia airport 2 hours away with a low cost airport or main city shuttle bus between them and Benidorm main bus depot with easy airport shuttle buses.

    The reality of the Guadalest valley is that having your own transportation is best!
    This allows you to explore further afield (be it the inland or coastal towns, beaches and better known tourist attractions (Aqualandia, Terra Mitica).

    Nearest medical care is 30 minutes away. We request anyone staying at las Palmeras to carry adequate travel or other medical insurance valid for your stay and medical care in Spain.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Best would be to state needs and can check with Starlink providers if our mountainous setting meets your requirements.

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Average size camper has a partial wind/sun sheltered flat tarmac parking area.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Flexible in actual distribution of time though expect total per week of 25hrs dedicated help/person.

N° de référence hôte : 283398549563

Feedback (7)


Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (4.4)

Échange culturel: (4.4)

Communication: (4.4)

Play with our children and help them practice languages in Granada, Spain
Come and help us with practicing English while enjoying the sun and the beach in Huesca, Spain