Experience a small connected community in nature and help with our animals and on our land in Pritchard, BC, Canada



Enregistré comme favori 132 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 3 jours

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins trois semaines

  • Description


    We are a family of 5, 3 adults and 2 grand kids, here on the farm. Our main focus is always the horses and their care, and we have 3 labradors and 2 goats that keep us entertained , 22 sheep and plenty of friendly barn cats.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide dans une ferme
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Aide à la maison
    Entretien général
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    We love riding our horses and would like to share that with others. Year round we ride the horses on trails and in the arenas or on the obstacle course. We ride Western and English.
    The Spring time is always such a joy when the grass starts to grow and the baby farm animals are born.
    In the Summer is it alway very lovely and hot but we live within sight of the river and enjoy the ability to cool off and have a paddle. The lake is only 20 minutes down the road making it a perfect way to end the day with a waterski or board time, we have a ski boat and love to teach people to waterski.
    The Fall is beautiful here in the Interior of BC. The weather is pretty hard to beat. This time of year we especially love the trail riding with the changing colours in the forest. It is a great time for us to get ready for winter and get our hay in the barn.
    In the Winter: Our place is about 1hr from the world renowned Sun Peaks Resort and 55 mins from Harper Mtn. for snow skiing and boarding, although we do not ski there is a shuttle from Kamloops that can take you to the ski hill. Our local area has some X-country ski trails. Of course the horses still need care and love even in the cold. We do get to ride indoors in the covered arena and usually have lots of good friends to join us.
    COVID update: We request that you show proof that you are double vaccinated.

  • Aide


    Horses, Horses, Horses! Feeding and cleaning horse pens is a big, daily part of our lives around here. Spending time with the horses and checking on their well being every day. We have an indoor riding arena so we get to ride all year long. Now that Spring is on the way we have lots of small projects that we would love to get help with. Some digging and raking, and fence repairs, firewood.... and thats just at the barn! Oh yes! We will be lambing this spring as well! We are also expecting Goat babies!
    We always appreciate organization skills, computer and internet guidance, and would never say no to cooking and cleaning. (We are willing to purchase any ingredients you might need) I, Barb, am a decent cook but always excited to learn new things. We will feed you and are open to different eating lifestyles with your guidance and meal suggestions. Some of our family eat gluten free, one is pescatarian.

    Spring: Feeding, daily health check, cleaning horse pens, and barn. Goat and sheep feeding and other daily care. Lambs and goat babies will be born late spring (April/May) this year. Trail riding and barrel racing and horse clinics.
    One of our big focuses this spring is property clean up. Lots of fallen trees, branches and pine needles that we would like to clear away to make our property more fire smart. Planting garden, weeding, painting and fence repair,

    Summer: Feeding, daily health check, cleaning horse pens, and barn. We have loads of fences we would like to get painted! It is usually pretty hot around here in the summer so we work in the mornings and evenings and try to get to the lake or river to keep cool during the heat of mid day. Trail riding and water skiing, Getting hay in the barn and stored for winter.

    Fall: Feeding, daily health check, cleaning horse pens, and barn. Projects this time of year usually involve preparation for winter and making sure everything is working as it should. Getting hay in the barn and stored for winter. Maintenance on vehicles. Fence repairs

    Winter: Feeding, daily health check, cleaning horse pens, and barn. Shovelling, snow plowing and sanding driveway. Keeping things running and ice free. Barrel races and calf roping in the arena always provide entertainment.

    We would like someone who could help us with horse care, cutting and trimming trees, pulling weeds, painting fences, firewood, general property improvements. We are building a Mountain Trail course using material from the property. Basic building skills and good with instruction are helpful, but what we are looking people who are willingness to learn new things, keep busy and work with us. We live in a rural area and quite frankly we don't get much time to get off the farm. If you are looking for a farm immersion type experience we are the farm for you! If you are looking for town trips and excitement we are probably not the choice for you. We work hard, but not necessarily fast, often we work longer hours to get it all done. So if you are a clock watcher we probably aren't the farm for you. We won't work you to death but expect a good days work in the exchange opportunity. There are areas to hike and walk right from the farm. We do have a horse or maybe two that you can ride in and we have regular informal trail rides, flag nights and fun riding. Have a look at the reviews from past workers to see how well it can work for all of us! We are eager to meet new people and learn about other countries, different foods and traditions. Our experience so far with work-aways has been positive and fun and we are excited to continue to meet new people from around the globe.
    Our Facebook page is Ridge View Stables B&B Horton
    Instagram. ridge_view_stables

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    We have bunkhouse style accommodations with multiple bedrooms in the suite over the barn, shared kitchen and bathroom. We will provide meals and or ingredients to prepare meals. We have lots of room for a travel trailers or camper vans.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    We live 4 minutes from the river, swimming, canoeing. There is 100's of acres of crown land near by. Trails to ride and hike. The farm is 30 minutes drive from Kamloops. Brad drives to work in Kamloops every week day 7am-5pm so there is a possibility that you could get a ride into town for the day.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Plus de 2

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

N° de référence hôte : 221763546735