Pet and house sit with gym, pool, volcano view in Guatemala City, Guatemala

Country

Guatemala

Enregistré comme favori 44 fois


  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Activité récente

    03.04.2022

  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 8 jours

 
  2022 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins une semaine

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am from Germany and work as a teacher of German and English in Guatemala City. I love travelling and most of the time travel with my dog Matute. But, unfortunately, there are also journeys I cannot take her with me. That is why I am searching for a dog and house sitter. She is perfectly educated and trained to commandos, active, playful and, most of all, absolutely lovely.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bénévolat
    S’occuper des animaux
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Aide à la maison
    Accueil / tourisme

  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Get to know Guatemala City

    PARKS in Guatemala (within 1 hour from the capital):
    -Senderos Alux Ecological Park (entrance: 25Q)
    -Relief Map - Zone 2, capital (entrance: 15Q)
    -Kanajayu Eco Park
    -Finca Municipal Florencia (around 25Q)
    -Naciones Unidas National Park (around 15Q)
    -Municipal La Cerra Regional Park (free)
    -Jardines de Provenza (free if drinks are purchased at the restaurant)
    -Hobbitenango
    -Green Rush
    -Eco Restaurante San Luis
    -Altamira Antigua
    -Finca El Pilar (entrance: 95Q)
    -Calderas National Park (30Q)
    -Finca El Barretal (50Q)

  • Aide

    Aide

    COVID INFORMATION AND ARRIVAL IN GUATEMALA:
    In order to get into Guatemala, you need to be fully vaccinated (2 shots or 1 shot of Johnson and Johnson) and you have to provide a covid test (either antigen or PCR not older than 72 hours) on paper.

    Be aware: Somewhere on the internet, it is said that you can do a Covid-test at the airport when arriving. It is correct that there are laboratories at the airport, but in order to qualify for doing a test upon arrival, there are restrictions (e.g. delayed flight and, therefore, not valid covid test anymore, etc.). Please make sure that you have a negative covid test with you (printed AND on the mobile!). Other than that, it is also fine if you're vaccinated for more than 14 days in order to enter the country.

    TRAVEL INFORMATION:
    I basically travelled all of Guatemala and happily assist you with planning your travels (AFTER YOUR SIT ;-) ) in this awesome country. Further information can also be found on my blog: worldcalling4me.com

    YOUR TASK:
    You're supposed to take care of Matute while I am away on vacations and take care of the apartment.

    WHO IS MATUTE?
    I saved Matute from the street more than a year ago when she was still a puppy of about 6 to 8 weeks. That time, I didnt know if she may even survive because her health condition was pretty bad.

    Matute is a joy! She LOVES cuddles and playing and will play with her toys all day long. In the mornings, before heading to work, I normally take her out just quickly (6.30am). She is fed breakfast anytime between 6 and 7 and fed dinner at 6pm(ish). When I come home from work, she is normally walked a 2nd time. She is either walked twice a day (morning and evening) or just once if it is a good long walk. Other than that, she loves playing fetch in the parks.
    And, as she is already 3 year old, she can "hold it" for more than 12 hours. So, if it is not possible for you walking her at 6am, she is totally fine. Nevertheless, depending on the time she peed the last time, you should take her out between 7 and 8am.

    There are several (safe) and very nice parks within 1 hour outside the city and also in the city where you can easily get to with an Uber! If interested, I can send you a link to my Google Maps location as I put all the parks within a distance of 60minutes in a list. For a short stay, I recommend only going to Cayala or the parks in the city.

    Needless to say, but perhaps of some importance: Matute is vaccinated against everything. She is also trained in German - but most of the commandos sound similar to the ones in English so that this shouldnt be a real problem. I will happily give you a list of commandos with translation if needed. ;-)

  • Langues parlées

    Allemand: Courant
    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    LOCATION:
    My apartment is in zone 11 of Guatemala City in the 6th floor with a stunning view of volcano Pacaya.

    THE EDIFICIO:
    The edificio in which I live is called "Mirage Apartments" and super safe! You either get access through the garita or a key card which I will happily provide you with upon your arrival. With this key card, you are only allowed to go to the sotanos, 1st floor and the floor in which my apartment is (6th).

    Mirage Apartments has a swimming pool, a really well-equipped gym (I only took my treadmill and dumbbells with me when moving because I already had them), a social area and plently of small gardens within the gates of the condominio.

    The edificio's concept is creating sort of a family space for the people who live there. That is why you will not find rental guests here - only visitors of the people who live here.

    MY APARTMENT:
    The apartment has 126qm, 4 rooms, 2 bathrooms and a total of 4 toilets (whoever needs 4 toilets :-) ).

    THE ROOMS:
    There is an open kitchen and a huge living-room with 2 sofas, my room, a room in which I do have my gym equipment (treadmill, dumbbells, mat, etc.) and a guest room. The guestroom only has a single mattress!

    Apart from that, there is the main bathroom (mine) and the guest bathroom (yours) - both with (super) hot water shower.
    Next, there are 2 guest toilets (one at the entrance of the apartment, one next to the kitchen which I use a storage room); the other 2 toilets are in the 2 bathrooms.

    The kitchen has all it needs to be able to really live in my apartment: all necessary kitchen equipment, stove, fridge, freezer, washing machine, microwave, ecofilter (the water in the edificio is filtered, theoretically, the ecofilter is not needed) - and different coffee machines for you to choose in the mornings. :-D

    SURROUNDINGS:
    Within walking distance, there is a super small park to be able to walk with my dog, several tiends (100m) and the shopping mall Pacific Center (800m).

    Pacific Center has the big bakery San Martin, a big supermarket (Paiz), several coffee tiendas, banks/ATMs, Claro and Tigo tiendas (for SIM cards) and other things you may need during your stay in the city.

    GETTING AROUND: For getting around, I highly recommend Uber, which is safe and cheaper than a taxi.

    TRAFFIC can be terrible in the city: Normally Mondays and Fridays are the worst. Chaos starts around 4:30/5pm. Try not to be on the streets on Fridays between 5 and 8pm. After 8pm, it gets better.

    ----
    Personal notes for you:
    I am aware that you may also like to travel through Guatemala - but please: This is something that can be done before OR after the sit. Please don't stay away from home more than 5 hours. Matute will miss me a lot because we have a very intense relationship - please don't make her feel alone while I am away!

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    I will be travelling from 8th April to 17th April (21pm) 2022.

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    Possibilité d’accueillir les digital nomads

    I have been giving classes online during the whole pandemic with stable wifi.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Un

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    max 25 a week


N° de référence hôte : 214687386181