High in the Rockies, BC, Canada



Enregistré comme favori 74 fois

  • rating

    Évaluation d'hôte

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Activité récente


  • Last email replied

    Taux de réponse

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Délai de réponse moyen :

    ≤ 1 jour

  • Description


    Hello travellers, I am in the process of restoring a heritage farmhouse, which was built by the first settlers of European decent in our area, with frontage on the majestic Columbia River. I moved to this spot in October 2016, with the goal of working the land and creating a space for sustainable living and agriculture, as well as providing tourist accomodations for the many visitors from all over the world. We are located about halfway between the towns of Golden and Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia.
    We are a family of three, my son and daughter being eight and ten years old, and they live with me part-time. With a full-time job as a carpenter at a shop up the road, as well as helping raise two lovely kids and stewarding 150 acres of land (and the locals- bears, coyotes, elk, beaver, cougar, and so many waterfowl ), I am finding it tricky to make this old farm shine again as quickly as i would like. Specific projects I am planning for summer '17 are :

    - Interior renovations of our 6-bedroom 132 year-old home, made cedar dovetail log style by original homesteaders.
    - Use and maintain my rrigation system running on hayfields.
    - Preparing firewood to heat home this winter
    - Gardening and growing fruit and vegetables.

    *️️️️*️️️️ Please note*️️️️*️️️️

    If you have no experience in any of the above areas, I would be more than happy to host someone(s) who can free up some of the time I spend cooking and cleaning to maintain a tidy and clean home with great food, so that I could focus more on my outdoor projects. This would be such a help!
    We love having fun on the rivers and lakes in the summer, and we are avid snowboarders in the winter. I came fairly recently to this special place that I chose after years of travelling and seeing amazing places....this place stands out for mountain living and culture, and is located in the midst of the crown jewels in the Canadian National Parks System. Popular local activities include paragliding, mountain biking, climbing, paddling, fishing and backpacking, not to mention skiing, snowmobiling and heli-skiing in the winters.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Baby-sitting et jeux créatifs
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
    Aide dans une ferme
    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Aide à la maison
    S’occuper des animaux
    Aide informatique / avec Internet

  • Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de développement durable de l’ONU que cet hôte essaie d'atteindre

    Objectifs de l’ONU
    Pas de pauvreté
    Faim «zéro»
    Bonne santé et bien-être
    Éducation de qualité
    Égalité entre les sexes
    Eau propre et assainissement
    Énergie propre et d'un coût abordable
    Travail décent et croissance économique
    Industrie, innovation et infrastructure
    Inégalités réduites
    Villes et communautés durables
    Consommation et production responsables
    Mesures relatives à la lutte contre les changements climatiques
    Vie aquatique
    Vie terrestre
    Paix, justice et institutions efficaces
    Partenariats pour la réalisation des objectifs
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Travellers will benefit from an exchange with us by enjoying a quiet rural lifestyle in a great community, with easy access to some world-class mountain sports and recreation. Easy day-trips to Banff, Glacier, Yoho National parks, as well as mere minutes away from the entrance to the famous Bugaboos Provincial Park. Catch fish from the river at our doorstep and eat fresh organic produce at home in a relaxed and happy atmosphere.
    I am happy to help people work on their english skills while they are here, as I do have some experience with this.

  • Projets impliquant des enfants

    Projets impliquant des enfants

    Ce projet peut impliquer des enfants. Pour en savoir plus, consultez nos directives et conseils ici.

  • Aide


    We are well prepared to host someone who can handle themselves very well doing two or more of the following tasks ;
    - helping to set up a chicken coop, and caring for sheep, goats, dogs and cats.
    - gardening/cultivating fruits and vegetables
    - assisting a carpenter/timberframer with renovations and new construction
    - irrigation system maintenance (not complex)
    - town/ grocery runs (40 km to town from here)
    - cooking and cleaning
    - general farm help, fencing, haying, equipment repair

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant

  • Hébergement


    Private room in house, or I will provide you with my comfortable camper, if the home is under renovations, with most food included. Our diet is rich in healthy foods, fresh fish, vegetables, fruit, and dairy. Farm fresh eggs and farm-made yogurt and cheese. I enjoy moderate use of alcoholic beverages, and sometimes have really fun parties for children and adults alike.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    Our farm is a 25 minute drive from town, with no public transit, besides taxis. Rides to town can be arranged with myself or my neighbours, and I usually go to town at least twice a week. This place is becoming renowned in North America for it's ecotourism options, and as a host and former wilderness guide, I am well familiar with some amazing places around here.
    This placement would be best suited for a person who likes the mountains, warm summers, has healthy living and recreation goals, and enjoys being in a small community. I would like to provide someone with a good balance of working/ learning opportunities and free time. The stated guideline of this agency is 4-5 hours of work per working day, so that would be my expectation. Willingness to challenge yourself outside of your regular comfort zone would be a big asset here, as possible tasks are quite varied. You could be helping building a log cabin, or cooking us up a tasty meal ...

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Cet hôte a de la place pour les vans.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?


  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

N° de référence hôte : 118155771181