marcoub

From: Italy

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/06/2015 - 06/07/2015


  • Description

    Hy everyone!
    To Write something about yourself is always very difficult. To do this in an interesting way is even more difficult, so let me start with some obvious things...
    Of course, the first thing you need to know is my name. Lucky you! My name is Marco, not a very difficult name and for sure one of the most common name in Italy. I thing that this won't change anything, anyway I will tell you my surname too: Ubaldi (just to make you know something about my surname I'll tell you that the ancient Major of my city had the same surname and as he didn't do great things, actually he was the worst major ever, my surname in my city is an heavy burden). I'm 24 years old (not too young, not too old) and I'm from Italy. I'm not patriotic but I really think that Italy is one of the most beautiful countries in the world; unfortunatly it doesn't offers too much to young people and lots of us are just deciding to leave the country to live some new experiences somewhere. Me too (But as I told you if I decide to leave my city for a while is also because of my surname).
    Parma is the city where I come from. Just to make you know something about my city, Parma is medium sized town in the North of Italy, between Bologna and Milan. If you know something about Parma is for sure about is food. Indeed, the area of Parma is also Known as the “Food Valley” since we have lots of typical products among which the Parmesan and the Parma ham..not bad at all!
    So now it's time to say something about me.
    Recent graduate in Political Sciences at the University of Padova (Italy) after five years of studies I'm just entering the world of work and as I told you the door to this world are not too open.
    My university studies are divided between two cities: Bologna and Padova. In the first city I got my bachelor's degree on the subject of the International Cooperation whilst in the second city I got my Specialist degree in “Institution and politics of human rights and peace” a required course on the subject of human rights, my greatest passion. Indeed, I'm keen about human rights and protection mechanism linked to them and I succeeded, over the years, in consacrating these interests through studies and several activities carried out during the free-time. My studies have reinforced my convinction that human rights have to be the “compass” that guide all human activities.
    During the course of my studies I learned/acquired several theoretical and pratical knowledges in different fields, as economy, Law, sociology, languages, politics and history of the European Union. However, I have always had a keen interest for the right to food, subject matter upon which I decided to make my degree thesis.
    Similarly, during my university experience I have always tried to seize all the occasion that I considered important for my personal growth. For this reason I took part in several experiences of international voluntary service with whom I think I have reinforced and deepened my theoretical knowledges and decided to participate to the Erasmus program with whom I studied in France (Lille) for one year. Thanks to these experiences I had the possibility to meet and get in touch with youth and association from all around the world, so that I have enriched my cultural and language skills.
    What else? I think I am a dynamic and open minded person; desirous to learn and improve something every day. I'm very energic, vital and (they say) funny and friendly...hey! a perfect guy!
    I have lots of hobbies; among this writing and reading are certainly my main interests. I love too the photography and the cinema. I play football and I'm volunteer at the Red Cross of Parma, organization with whom I do lots of social and health activities directed to elderly people, children and homeless and since two weeks I'm council member of my quarter's council (that's the begnning of my political career..ahah). Last but not the least, I have my vegetable garden in which I grown some vegetables during the all year, a very relaxing activities that make me feel happy.
    To conclude I think is indispensable to write something about my decision to come in the United Kingdom for some weeks. There are several reasons that pull me to start this experience. First of all, as I'm a very open minded guy I strongly desire to live a different experience in a country in which I have been two times but that I've never truly known. That's because when I came I was like a tourist and even if I really enjoyed to discover some places in UK this time I would like to know something more, in other words the culture and the way of life of people living there. A second reason is of course the improvement of my english a language that I've studied for so many years but that I still don't know as I would like. The third and most important reason is my will to meet, to know and to visit new people, new friends and new places. I really hope to have the opportunity to live an unforgettable experience in a new country and to bring back some new knowledge in my country.
    To conclude I just want to thank you for the attention and the patience that you had in reading all this presentation. I look forward to hearing from you.

    Marco Ubaldi

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    So, my studies are the so called humanitarian studies but I'have always done lots of different things. For example I grow up my own vegetable in my vegetable garden, I love taking picture of my house and landscape, I've always worked in my garden with trees and flowers, as I am a Red Cross volunteer I do lots of social activities with young people, children, elderly people and homeless in my city and I'm a very open minded person who love to meet people from everywhere and to know different cultures and ways of life. Indeed, I've always tried to live as much as possible experiences of international voluntary service on environmental and sustainability subjects and I participated to some exchange study programmes. I love to cook, especially fresh stuff from my own garden. I've too some computer/internet skill that we can sum up in the ownership of the European Computer Driving Licence (sound bizarre). So, what are you waiting for? Contact-me!

  • Languages spoken

    Italian, English, French

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    italian

  • What else ...

    You just need to know that I'm too excited to live a new unforgettable experience in your country.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts