Kenna

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Chile

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/11/2016 - 16/05/2017


  • Description

    I enjoy sharing experiences with people from different places and learning new skills. I have been traveling and living outside of my country for many years. This has taught me many lessons... I consider travel to be as valuable as school. The more you learn how other people live the more understanding you can be when looking at the world.
    Cities are nice and I feel like there is a lot to see but I feel most at home when there are stars overhead and a campfire at my feet.
    I am a social person, i like to go out and meet new people but am also quite happy to curl up with a book for the afternoon.
    Honesty is also something that is very important to me. I am a person that is very open and relies on open communication with the people around me.
    In terms of work ethic, I was taught if you are going to do something....take your time and produce something you are proud of.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    My skills are varied, I work mostly in tourism. I have worked in many hostels/ bed and breakfasts and restaurants. I really enjoy the atmosphere they bring. Gardening, sewing and cooking are some of my favorite things to do in my spare time. Last summer I dug my first garden of my own and found it very rewarding.
    I have also been apart of many building projects and have been told I am a quick study. The last 6 months I have been working at an art maze working with materials like concrete, ceramic tile, metal and styrafom to create various art pieces.
    I am able to sew both by hand and machine. I make the majority of my clothing and sell many of my side projects in small shops and artist co-ops. I have taken on the challenge to only use old clothes to make my creations. It can be challenging but I am a strong believer in up cycling and recycling materials. Some of my best pieces were made from things I found on the ground.
    I have some experience with permaculture techniques from my time in an organic farms in Latin America and am interested in learning more.
    I am always willing to learn new skills!

  • Languages spoken

    English and Spanish

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    I consider myself to be very respectful and not afraid of hard work. I love live music of any kind and listening to stories of where people have been.
    I am really excited to be a part of this community. I have used other networks like couchsurfing and feel that this would also be a great opportunity to do something a little different and learn something new.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

My Photo Album

Click images to enlarge

A nature ball I made from things I found around the land and beach.
my first harvest from my garden in nova scotia
some of my monsters with hearts

Some of our top hosts