Liset & Henk

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belgium, China, Netherlands, Sweden, United Kingdom, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/06/2016 - 25/07/2016

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    122


  • Description

    We are Henk and Liset from Rotterdam – Netherlands; a couple working in the cultural field. We love to travel, mostly with our VW-T4 campervan.
    We have 2 adult children living in London and Sweden.
    We are planning a future with more travelling besides our freelance jobs and start a try out periode from now on. We hope to hit the road in 2019 for a longer period of time.
    Last september we started very small with a weekend grape picking at an organic farm in the Netherlands.

    Henk is a marketeer, he studied theatre at Ecole Jacques Lecoq in Paris. He worked for several theatres in the Netherlands and is at this moment a freelance programmer and marketeer and has a lot of connections with impresario's especially in the classical music field.

    We met on stage but Liset preferred visual arts. She is a professional nursery school and art teacher. As an artist she makes mono and screenprints and graphic scores. If necessary she can give you a reference address from her biggest client. As an artist she is a member of CBK Rotterdam.

    We are both photographers and have a lot of theatre skills.
    In the summer of 2015 we organised and crowdfunded an art/music project in Romania and worked there for 2 weeks.
    You can find more about our work on www.ateliervandommelen.nl and www.kuiperscultuur.nl
    If you like to see what Liset is doing in her art workshops look at facebook : Worldwide art workshops

    We moved a lot so far and fixed quite a few houses and a houseboat. Deconstruction, and painting the places is the thing we mostly did ourselves, the rest was done by professionals.

    Skating, hiking and biking are things we love to do. We biked from the Netherlands to Paris.
    We love meeting other people while traveling, learning more about the country we are travelling in and not spent all our time at a campsite or in the van.

    Our first workaway experience was one week in Scotland and we loved it.


    Netherlands and Belgium
    We travel a lot inside our own country the Netherlands. Oirschot, Kampen and Westerbork are visited by us regular with our campervan for work and family visits. For short help (also Belgium area close to Rotterdam) sent us a request and we will see if it is possible to make it fit in our schedule.

    Asia
    In summer 2017 we are planning a trip to Asia. Starting in Hanoi

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Henk: marketing, painting , wood chopping, update website, photography, assist Liset with her workshops or give a theater training.

    Liset cooking and cleaning (Henk can help me), art workshops (kids and adults), teaching toddlers / nurseryschool teacher,gardenwork, can assist Henk with painting jobs, photography.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, French

  • Age

    55 & 61

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    We arrive in England 13 July in Harwich and start driving in the direction of Chester. From there to the Lake district and to Edinburgh for the start of the Fringe festival.
    Summer 2017 we are planning a trip to Asia.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

My Photo Album

Click images to enlarge

Using our photography skills to document the birds and the ecoproject for our host in Scotland summer 2016
special workawayers dinner Scotland summer 2016
workaway Scotland summer 2016
volunteer grape pickers in the Netherlands September 2015

Some of our top hosts