Please use your browser's back button.

Volunteering in rural Catalonia.

Country: Spain

Updated

Workaway Host rating
11
Last Activity
30/10/2014

Description

On short term we look for a carpenter and someone experienced in central heating.
Standard we need assistance in housekeeping, gardening and general maintenance. The organic vegetable garden needs true physical work, we like active people who enjoy working to achieve a good result. We have started with perma-culture.
We are Maria and Mathieu living in Miravet - Spain for 14 years in a country house on 1,5 ha. We live as independent as possible regarding energy, water and food and our life is based on holistic principles. Mathieu was active as an interim manager till July 2012 and Maria is still active as a psychologist.

We both spent a lot of time on developing an independant healthy life by using natural resources for energy(solar panels), our own water supply and growing our own organic food. We now started to find and plant authentic seeds.

We are looking for people down to earth, hands on, who love physical work, with a positive attitude towards life. As we live in nature we do not invite people who sleep out late in the morning, we prefer early-risers.
In the weekends there are common things to do, because there are a lot of animals who need food, care and cleaning, in which we all cooperate in the morning, starting at 10.00 so that at 12.00 o'clock the work is finished and food is prepared. This gives and the host and the WAW a more free weekend.


What is REALLY IMPORTANT is that we are developing a more and more sustainable life, living as green as possible and that the WAW is interested to live in such a system.
This means a responsible use and consumption of electricity and water, such as:
- Electricity and computers off, when you are not there
- Water from taps and shower as short as possible
- When washing, always taking care that there is full machine.
- No waist of food and energy

The creative part of life like decorating, is Maria, Mathieu is in his creative flow when he is in the kitchen baking and cooking.

There is a separate villa and a cottage on the property available for holiday rental.We have regularly guests staying at this place from all over the world.

We have a rather international group of friends and we meet each other on a regular basis to have nice diners, creative activities good discussions. One of our friends is playing gitar and we all sing together. Another friend is a professional singer. The most important thing is the friendship, cheerfullness and the mutual development.

Area

Catalonia

Type of help

Animal care,
Help in the house,
Help with Eco project,
General Maintenance,
Building,
Gardening

Help

Loving animals and nature is important, as we have dogs, cats, chicken, birds and koi-fish and live in a natural environment. A well educated person, with a good sense of humor, without severe life problems, who contributes to a positive atmosphere is important for us.
General maintenance, such as painting, small repairs, cleaning the terraces and the garden. Gardening, the vegetable garden, the green house, all based on organic garnering.
The WAW must be disciplined to do his daily duties in an independant cheerful way.
Regarding food: it is "a must" that the WAW loves healthy natural food with a variety of different cultures and sometimes vegetarian. During the day we do not drink alcohol or juices, we drink water and herbal tea. With supper we have a glas of wine, water, a juice for the people that do not drink alcohol.

People with innovative ideas, practical experience to improve the way of living and who are able to implement these ideas.
General cleaning: volunteers clean their room and bathroom when they come, not when they leave.
In case there are guests in the villa and the cottage volunteers are supposed to help on cleaning activities on Saturday morning.

Daily 5-6 hours from Monday to Friday.
No-smoking, moderate alcohol, no drugs, no medication.
We provide a harmonious high quality accommodation, with a lovely atmosphere and this needs a high quality contribution.
We only want responsable people who love to keep our beautiful property with us on a high quality level. Speaking proper English is important.

Languages spoken

Dutch, English, German, Spanish

Accommodation

In the main house at the upper floor there are two bedrooms, a bathroom with shower and a separate toilet. This floor with warm and cold water, central heating will be available for the volunteers during their stay. If needed they have to share a bedroom.
In the main house there is a living and a kitchen for common use. The host family has a seperate part in the house and love to share meals and good conversations.
Satellite wifi available.

What else ...

We live just outside medieval Miravet with his Templar's castle and many potteries. Our property is situated in a huge valley with fruit trees and surrounded by mountains. The property is connected to the grid and the central water supply and we also have a phone connection.The village is at a 10 minutes walking distance. Buses and trains are operating from Mora la Nova and are not available in Miravet. We have 2 bikes.
Mora d'Ebre is a lovely little town for shopping at a driving distance of 10 minutes.
Miravet is on the river Ebro and about 30 km from the Costa Daurada with its beautiful beaches.
Barcelona is 2 hours away by train. Closest airport is Reus, and further away Barcelona.
Volunteers can do: horse-riding, tennis, squash, fitness, golf, nature walks, pilates, yoga, meditate.

Some more information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Volunteering hours expected

5 days a week your daily hours as an exchange for excellent lodging and food.

Photos

Volunteer in authentic Catalonia to contribute to a sustainable life in a little paradise with a lot of cheerfulness and laughter.

Click to enlarge

Host ref number: 977739495238

Feedback left about host

by Paula
by elinor
by Davis
by Madeline
by Niklas
by Monika
by Sanne
by Dan
by Jason
by Katarzyna
by Tine

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share