Help with horses near Carrickmacross, Ireland

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    06/12/2016

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

2016

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D



This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

  • Description

    Description

    We run a small part-time thoroughbred breeding concern in Co. Monaghan. We have 3 mares who will generally be pregnant or nursing their foals. Normally we will sell the foals but sometimes we will keep a foal until it is a yearling and then we will either take it to the sales or put it into training as a racehorse. If we have a horse in training we will go to the races to watch it racing. This can involve plenty of travelling and excitement.

    Our day starts off with morning stables which takes about an hour and a half. The horses are then turned out for the day and other than a couple of feeds during the day the next horse job is bedtime stables which involves another feed and shutting the horses in for the night. During the summer the horses are outside 24 hours so the workload is much reduced. Ocassionally if a horse is sick or has an injury or is nursing a weak foal, it may be confined to it's stable so more mucking-out is required.

    If you are willing to help you will need to be very experienced around horses as our horses are racehorses and they can be unpredictable and are very powerful. In return the horses give you lots of pleasure. We also travel the horses to Stud farms during the year so if you're happy to come along you will get a chance to see some very interesting places. We cannot however offer you horse riding on our farm as we don't ride the horses.

    We have a large garden so if you like gardening you can have a lot of fun out there! We are about 4.5 miles from the town of Carrickmacross which has a great bus service to Dublin. Whatever places you'd like to visit we will help you get there and any hobbies or pastimes you enjoy we will encourage.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    Light housework, stable duties including mucking-out, grooming, feeding, foal-walking, gardening (optional)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Ensuite spacious bedroom with Wifi and run of the family home and all meals

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please only apply for this position if you have alot of experience handling horses. We don't smoke and unfortunately wouldn't want a smoker. The farm is in a quiet rural area so if you don't enjoy quiet then you won't like it here. We also have a few sheep, 2 cats and 1 dog. Most sports and activities are accessible locally so there's plenty to keep you occupied.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 972874882379

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts