Basic help at my small backpackers Guesthouse in Malta - March only!

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    24/02/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1666

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D



This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I'm Clem, Irish/English and very easy to get along with. I spend my days in pursuit of freedom and sunny shores - I'm new to all this but I have managed to start a small (8-10 guests) backpacker-style Guesthouse - and this is exactly what I need a chilled, interesting person to help me with.

    It's a relaxed, comfortable house with balconies and rooftops, right by the sea. A budget place for easy-going friendly people with socialising or adventures in their holiday plans.

    We have already seen a lot of guests - all have great reviews and seem to love it. It's become a social, friendly place for open minded stress free people to get to know each other and explore small but beautiful Malta, we have met some really amazing people and had some awesome times.

    It's in a really amazing location, just by the sea and the 1.5euro fast ferry to Valletta (our tiny stunning capital city) just ten meters from the bus stop to the main hub and an easy walk to cheap food, cold drinks and fresh baked bread.

    The house is a big one! Six floors including the rooftop, and this is the layout:

    Top roof with 360* view
    Second to top roof & kitchen
    Shower (hot and powerful)
    Guys room (sleeps 3)
    Toilet (shared)
    Girls room (sleeps 3)
    Toilet (shared)
    My room & washing machine closet :D
    Basement (has one wall painted purple)

    Cool things to know:
    Most things here are recycled, reclaimed or home made.
    Both the shared rooms have a balcony.
    All beds are nice mattresses raised on wooden pallets.
    There are 96 steps from basement to the highest roof.
    The toilets are not attached to the rooms.
    We have a guitar.
    There is a large free car park.
    You can see the sea from the roof.
    The kitchen is tiny and super simple*
    The convenience store is open every day.
    We have no pets, vampires or air-con.
    Sometimes we all cook together.
    Sometimes we BBQ together and invite friends.
    The WIFI reaches like everywhere.
    You can walk to some amazing places from here**
    People leave shampoo a lot so help yourself.
    Apparently I like lists.

    *The kitchen is very simple, on the roof (with a sink and seating area outside) and everything is just kind-of on a table. We have a hot plate, kettle, fridge, microwave, sandwich toaster, blender, cups, plates, bowls, spoons, knives, maybe some forks and like eight chopping boards.

    ** From the front door you can walk for 5 minutes and find yourself in Birgu (Vittoriosa) Malta's oldest and one of the most beautiful 'cities'. Go 15 minutes further and find the open sea to the East for an amazing sunrise.
    If you head South from the house, one and a half hours hike will bring you to St Peter's Pools (google it and see why it's my favourite summertime swimming spot) and Marsaxlokk for the famous Sunday morning fish market (while everyone else doesn't fit onto the busses trying to get there before it closes)
    So maybe you guessed, I like to hike. But the busses are cheap too, 1.5euros for two hours of use on any bus (Malta is less than 2 hours from top to bottom) - or you can buy a 12 trip ticket for 15 euros.

    What not to expect:
    Payment, this is a workaway cultural exchange
    Piggy backs up the stairs

    What to expect:
    Basic work and help
    A mattress on pallets
    Unlimited wifi
    Tea, coffee, milk, sugar
    Music on the roof
    A chilled atmosphere
    Other people in the house, being awesome.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    You would be the third workaway I've had, the other two have been awesome (a guy from Germany and a guy from Denmark) but I'm looking for someone for the month of March and a little more (exact dates free until April 5th -so only 35 days) You really must be self motivated and capable. I kind of prefer someone who is more of a morning person than me (as I am the opposite) who is interested in the cultural exchange experience or helping in tourism in Malta, and staying here with us and the guests.

    So the help is really only a few hours a day but it's a lot for me to do alone here and there are plenty of projects I need to get into, alongside my own writing work - so if you are someone was here who can handle just general sweeping, change/wash sheets and bedding, keep an eye on the plants, restocking some things if they need it and also just to be around sometimes to meet guests and be friendly - then this could work well :)

    The reason I am looking for more of a morning person because after we all get tired of chatting and drinking I usually try and get some work done in the night, so I wake up pretty late and the chances are the roof will be a bit messy (some cans, maybe cups and forgotten stuff in the sink etc...) so it's good not to leave it kicking around all day.

    Guests are cool, they always seem to wash up after themselves and love getting involved in things we do (bbq's, going for a few drinks, beach clean-up events I run every few weeks) so you will enjoy this all too hopefully.

    Don't worry you won't be expected to do anything too hard. I have some of my own woodwork, decorating and plumbing I want to do, but with so many visitors I don't have much time - with your help maybe I will :)

    You can get as involved as you want, as I am really open to new ideas for the guesthouse, community projects, decorations, artstuff and using recycled materials to save money/build.

    ps: The guesthouse is for surviving and fun, I'm not looking for someone with huge expansion and business plans, just a good life and to help people if we can. Life is for living hey :)

    So send me a message, we are all looking forward to seeing you, hopefully soon :)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    It's a single mattress in one of the dorm style rooms (a nice light room with enough space, and no more then two others)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    What else?...

    I have a pile of things by the door, they are for everyone to use, you and the guests; there is a snorkel and mask with fins, beginner slack-line, practice fire Poi, acoustic guitar, rock climbing harness, board games, cards, island maps and some other stuff.

    The entire house is open to everyone, people are encouraged to ask for anything they need so that's kind of our job too. If you break something it's okay and if you lose the key it's fine. We are a community of good people making the most of the summertime and you are super welcome to join us and help me.

    Please feel at home and get involved in anything, I am looking for someone who is looking for a fun, full experience and chilled holiday, alongside a bit of work.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you were hoping to work in/run/just love the scene of a backpackers or guesthouse - this is the one for you. You can learn how it all works out here and meet people from all over the world - join us for festivals and BBQ's with Maltese friends who will be happy to teach you their ways and how the Maltese live. It's really a fascinating country.

    In the summer I run a coastline clean-up every second Sunday that you can get involved with, where we get together and bring people from lots of other clubs and societies and bag up all the trash that has been left on the coast and in the water. These events are often followed by a BBQ and some slacklining.

    All my guests have stories to tell and experiences to share, it's not a very commercial guesthouse as it's small and social, so we get to know everybody here very well.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Photos

Me and the house

Click images to enlarge

You will be staying in a room like this
The view from the rooftop
Host ref number: 922144623329

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts