Volunteer in the Icelandic countryside

Country:

Workaway Host rating
Last Activity
03/03/2015

2015

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
2016




  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5 in northern Iceland, but only 4 that live in the house. We live in a beautiful valley about 12 kilometres away from the town of Akureyri, which has about 18.000 inhabitants. Akureyri is the biggest city outside of the capital of Iceland, Reykjavík. The town has a lot to offer, like museums, movie theatres, bars, nightclubs, bowling alley, ice skating rink, swimming pools and more. There is a geothermal swimming pool about 3 kilometres from our house. We have a great view of the countryside from our house and there is a big garden with trees and a barbecue.

    We bought a big old 3 story house to renovate in the summer 2011. There is an apartment on the second floor where we live and there is a raw food and vegetarian/vegan restaurant on the ground floor but it's only open during the summer months. Kristín has learnt holistic medicine and gives oil therapies, courses on healthy cooking and private counselling. Grettir works at Akureyri airport but is also a contractor for farmers where he works with heavy machines. NOTICE: We are not farmers and we do not have any animals now except two dogs.

    The summers in this area of Iceland can be really nice and the winters are beautiful. There is a lot of snow during the winter and there's a ski area in Akureyri. We also have snowmobiles and use them whenever we can during the wintermonths.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who can help clean the house inside and outside, do some gardening, painting and maintenance work. We also need someone to serve and help in the kitchen at the restaurant, which is a raw food/vegetarian restaurant, during the summers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Icelandic, English and Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The volunteers would have their own room with a comfortable bed and covers. The room is equipped with clothes hangers, comfortable bed and a nightstand. Because of changed situation we can not promise a seperate bedroom, but we will try to have all the best facilities available for our people.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would like the volunteer to be a non smoker, reliable and honest.
    We prefer vegetarian food but we also use meat and fish occasionally.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    25 hours a week


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Looking across the fjord.
Scenery to the south.
Host ref number: 816771862583

Feedback left by and about host

by Julia

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Jack

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Very good
(Very good)

by Laura

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Paula

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Laura

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.
by Reyes

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Giulio

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Very good
(Very good)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.
by Jamie

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Very good
(Very good)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Stephanie

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts