Please use your browser's back button.

A "Maison de maître" in the south of France

Country: France

Updated

Workaway Host rating
7
Last Activity
29/08/2014

Description

We are Sundara and David, a retired but still very active Scottish couple. Our only home is a large mansionhouse ('maison de maître') overlooking the Canal du Midi in the Languedoc region. It is used for various purposes particularly jazz soirees as we are involved in the jazz world, me as a singer & David on bass guitar.. We have a large Mediterranean garden and a 12.5 m pool.

We invite helpers/friends into our home during the months of March, April, May, June, September, & October.

We eat with our helpers and enjoy wonderful food. It is also useful if the applicants are reasonably competent cooks.and are generally practical. We prefer couples but not under the age of 24..

It is a plus if the applicants are jazz musicians but on the whole those who are lovers of life are especially likely to enjoy our environment.

Area

Languedoc Roussillon

Type of help

Other,
Help in the house,
General Maintenance,
Cooking / shopping,
Gardening

Help

We would expect an input 25 hours a week, ranging from painting to gardening and cleaning (including the pool). In addition we would expect you to share cooking and meal preparation. You do need to be practical, but computing skills are not needed. We would like you to stay for a week initially, with longer stays by arrangement.

Languages spoken

English, French

Accommodation

We will give you a large double bedroom, all meals and wine, and access to broadband (ADSL). Two mountain bikes and two grand pianos are available.

What else ...

We generally prefer couples, as we live in a small village with limited entertainment. Your work will range from painting to gardening, cleaning (including the pool), and sharing the cooking. You do need to be practical, but computing skills are not needed.

Nous voudrions surtout accueillir des couples français, afin que nous puissions améliorer notre français, en même temps que vous travailleriez votre anglais chez nous. À bientôt !

Sundara & David

Some more information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Volunteering hours expected

5 hours for 5 days per week.

Host ref number: 7221321749ff

Feedback left about host

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share