Please use your browser's back button.

A hand needed in beautiful Robson Valley

Country: Canada

Workaway Host rating
4
Last Activity
20/09/2014

Description

Born and raised in the beautiful Robson Valley I haven't found anywhere else in the world I would rather be. Over the last ten years I've rambled around Europe, Africa, Central America and the USA and the road always brings me back home. This special paradise is nestled between the Rocky and Cariboo Mountains with the Fraser River running through. My parents farm is on the banks of the river with views of the mountains in every direction you turn. I live on a piece of the farm - in a beautiful old log house - which is an on going project in itself. I would love to host and share what this valley has to offer, the special people in it (the town is known for it's sense of community and the friendliest people) and the wilderness surrounding us. I'm an artist and a music lover, traveller and soon to be gold miner. I love the outdoors, adventure and learning of new cultures.

Area

British Columbia

Type of help

Other,
Art project,
Language practise,
Animal care,
Help in the house,
Help with Eco project,
Farming,
General Maintenance,
Cooking / shopping,
Babysitting / child care,
Building,
Gardening

Help

**** Looking for someone interested in house sitting for part of the spring summer - please email if you are interested. *****

Work would involve a whole variety of things ... I could really use someone interested in restoring old buildings as my log house and barn are an ongoing project ( a new foundation is in order). Help to build a deck, convert the shop into an art studio, I have a garden that gets bigger every year, as well as helping my parents with the beef cattle farm just to name a few. If you'd rather work inside there are many projects on the go in the house as well - painting, cooking cleaning, firewood etc. I am looking for easy going, fun loving ambitous folk who want to put their best into a project.

Languages spoken

English and beginner spanish

Accommodation

I have two spare rooms in the house and lots of room for a tent.

What else ...

There is so much to do here with spare time! We have endless places to explore, hiking, biking, sledding, snowshoeing, kayaking, fishing, right out the front door! I'm an active person so if you want to join in our adventures or make your own you are more than welcome. I live 4km from the small town of McBride (population 700 people) and often there is something interesting to take part in in the communtiy.

Some more information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Volunteering hours expected

I expect 5 hours of work a day, but it is very flexible and you need to be too. Some days might be longer if there is something going on on the farm, but other days are just play days where we just pretend there is no work to do. Work hard, play hard is

Photos

Click to enlarge

Host ref number: 693138349521

Feedback left about host

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share