Friendly home close to Melbourne - we'd love your general help and cultural exchange

new host

  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    20/02/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    721

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    HOME IN PRESTON, AN INNER SUBURB OF MELBOURNE, VICTORIA.

    Hi there, We are warm and generous people and like to meet people with the same nature, who spend their time with the intention of learning, growing and helping others through life. We also love to have a laugh at ourselves and at the world in general and sarcasm and wit are highly valued!

    I'm a friendly and social person, living with my 20 year old daughter, and two cute cats, in the inner suburbs of Melbourne. We are both compassionate, friendly and welcoming people and enjoying meeting people from all walks of life, from all over the world!

    I work full time as an events manager and spend my free time with friends & family, exploring the city as much as possible, attending events, seeing live music and generally making the most of what the city has to offer. I always try to spend time with my guests, whether it be at dinner, going for a drink or out exploring parts of the city.

    I'm learning Spanish and really want to be as close to fluent as possible before I take a trip to South America in 2018.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    I highly value the cultural exchange, and I am looking for people who during their visit to Melbourne are willing to support the overall running of the household, in exchange for a nice place to stay. My working hours can be incredibly busy, and I have a very social calendar, so general help around my home, Spanish lessons or nursing tuition in exchange for a place to stay is what I can offer.

    I’d like to host people who can spare three hours of their day to provide support to maintain my garden and home.

    If you have a skill or passion you would like to share we would love you to bring that with you -I am always open to learning new skills or just enjoying others talents.

    Are you really keen on organising and decluttering? Are you great at finishing what you started? I need you!

    It is great if you can function as part of a busy household, that means helping with food preparation and cleaning up etc. You should have initiative and be able to work independently, and with intent.

    I can offer two types of exchanges:- (also see notes below)

    1) A volunteer/accommodation exchange - You are expected to help two hours per day for one night's accommodation. Food is not provided - you will need to supply and cook your own food.

    2) A volunteer/accommodation/food exchange - You are expected to help four - five hours per day for one night's accommodation. Food is provided.

    Note:
    - If you are **fluent** in Spanish, I would exchange some/all of this time towards teaching me to speak Spanish.

    - If you have nursing experience/qualification, I would exchange some/all of this time in exchange for tuition for my daughter, who is studying full time nursing.

    A set time each day for you to volunteer will be negotiated between us upon your arrival, so that it is suitable for all of our schedules.

    As at February 2017, I require help with some of the following tasks:
    - pantry organisation
    - clean the kitchen cupboard doors clean
    - help with preparing meals
    - general household cleaning tasks such as vacuuming and mopping, dusting, clean surfaces, clean bathrooms
    - garage storage organisation and decluttering
    - organising kitchen cupboards and removing excess items for storage, sale or discarding
    - taking photos of items to sell on ebay
    - outside widow cleaning
    - install the roof racks on my car
    - tidy the garden - remove weeds, trim branches, watering
    - wash the walls of downstairs toilet (the least exciting task?)
    - sort my cd and dvd collection for sale or giveaway
    - rearrange the lounge room furniture for a better layout

    Amongst all the tasks there is time for fun, chats, relaxing and adventures, so if you think you are an efficient worker and would like ot be based close the city, get in touch.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Learning Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Modern and spacious townhouse in Preston.

    Sleeping arrangements:

    At the moment, I have the couch for sleeping. It is a long 3-seater couch that is very comfortable, and much like a single bed. This is in the lounge room of the house, which is a common area of the house. You will have access to a shared bathroom.

    You have access to:
    - Wi-fi internet
    - laundry facilities
    - use of kitchen
    - split system heating & cooling

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a vegan household and we ask that you respect that during your stay by being considerate of what you cook and how you dispose of it. Always leave no trace! In your spare time you have easy access to Melbourne and surrounding suburbs

    THE NEIGHBOURHOOD:
    Located in the eclectic and artistic heart of Melbourne - the North! The house is close to Miller Street Shopping Village with a range of cafes and restaurants nearby, as well as grocery and gift stores. The Number 11 tram is just five minutes walk away. Our home is the ideal home base to allow you to get a feel for the Northside, and explore all that Thornbury, Northcote, Brunswick and Fitzroy and of course the rest of Melbourne has to offer. For those who stick to an exercise routine while holidaying, you can step out the door and walk one minute to the gorgeous Merri Creek, home of the Sacred Kingfisher, and a beautiful place to talk a refreshing walk or jog. Yoga lovers can pick from two nearby studios!

    Take the tram along St George's Road into North Fitzroy Shopping Village and discover artisans home and gift wares, gourmet coffee and speciality stores. Keep going to Brunswick Street in Fitzroy - Melbourne's eclectic, artistic heart, with cafes, restaurants and bars and fashion stores for every occasion and inclination. Continue travelling along the number 11 tram route and you will be in the heart of the city within 30 minutes.

    Close by:
    Miller Street Shopping Village (5 minute walk) - choice of cafes and restaurants, supermarket with bottle shop, post office, yoga studio, hairdresser, wine store, florist, giftware and retail gallery.
    Preston Market (30 min walk, less if using the tram for part of the journey)
    Number 11 Tram - access to Brunswick St, Fitzroy; 30 minutes to the CBD.
    The Merri Creek (1 minute walk) with running tracks and plenty of trees and nature for a feel-good fix!

    Melbourne airport is 30 minutes drive away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My place is 30 minutes to the city by tram and is located in an idyllic quiet little neighborhood. There's nearby cafes with great food and coffee, a mix of restaurants & easy public transport access straight to the city or Brunswick Street, Fitzroy. The Merri Creek is 1 minute walk away. This area gives you a feel for the real Melbourne, without the noise!

    I have quite a lot of experience hosting people in my home. I highly value the cultural exchange, and I am looking for people who during their visit to Melbourne are willing to support the overall running of the household. I am a great cook, and can prepare delicious vegan meals and desserts, but i'm willing to learn from you - as long as it is vegan food.

    I also have a great knowledge of the city and it surrounds, and can offer day trips to explore different parts of the city and surrounds, like the Great Ocean Road, Dandenong Ranges, Phillip Island and The Grampians.

    My working hours can be incredibly busy, and I have a very social calendar, so at the very least general help around my home in exchange for a room is what I can offer.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 656641852763

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts