Ex-travellers, resting for a while. Please help us to provide a beautiful place for others! Drashan, Bulgaria

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    24/02/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    546

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Thanks for dropping in on our listing, Workawayers!

    We are Greg and Laura, a much travelled , awakening, conscious couple from the UK and Italy, respectively who finally left the road after many years exploring and bought their own little place to call base camp!

    We live in a forgotten corner of Europe in the North West of Bulgaria surrounded by nature and have this burning desire to turn our humble home into a place for other people who are also awakening to rest a while, get involved in deep conversations and live in peace.

    Our main aim is to make the place normal, human, peaceful and full of good energies.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Other
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    In the coming year, we would like to make repairs to the house, some minor and some major in order for us to open our doors to other travellers, hikers and rock climbers on a hostel/retreat level. Somewhere weary travellers can rest a few nights in the company of other good people, have deep conversations, put the world to rights, watch the sun set from the garden.

    A skill we could really use this Spring is helping with cob as there are some important projects that require this and we know nothing!

    Some projects we've got in mind that you may be able to apply your skills to;
    Repairs to (or replacement of) a small portion of roof on the house and the barn.
    Laying a floor in the upper portion of the barn to act as a meditation/yoga platform.
    Outdoor pallet lounge for those wicked sunsets we get from our raised garden.
    Cob pizza oven...(Laura, being Italian makes tremendous pizza)
    Building a dry stone wall from local rock
    BIG project, we want to insulate and repoint our brick house, preferably with cob
    Murals - We have a lot of white wall inside our house that we would love any artists to leave their mark and add to the ambience of the house.
    SOLAR + WIND - A tricky one to approach but if there is anyone with this knowledge, we'd love to meet you as we need to get away from the grid!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Italian, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home has such a wonderful peaceful feeling which we fell in love with immediately. The sunlight penetrates the whole South side and bathes the garden all day long.
    Directly from the front gate are trails to the lake and the forests with endless hours of exploration to be had.

    Location of the house sits at the top of a wooded valley, on the outer perimeter of Drashan village, with about 120 mostly elderly, friendly residents.
    It is only a 1 1/2 hour drive from Sofia, the capital if you need a few days in the big city at any point.
    A nearby village is on the train line from Sofia and takes about 1 1/2 hours at the cost of only a few euros. We would collect you from there if necessary.

    The nearest large town is a 40 minute drive away (bus takes about an hour) and has banks, supermarkets, cafes, restaurants etc.

    The village itself is in a time warp. People still drive horse and cart, work the land, make their own cheese and fresh milk which is occasionally offered to us....people here are relatively poor but always offer a smile. The neighbours have welcomed us into their lives with unbounding kindness and joy. To see young people return to their village fills them with hope for the future.

    We can provide collection from nearby transport links, three meals a day, with vegetarian a speciality, access to a car for day trips, your own room to sleep...or space in our soon to be acquired beautiful bell tent! I offer you my knowledge on wild foods as I regularly go hiking and foraging and Laura can help with languages as she is fluent in 4 and teach you how to make dreamcatchers and draw mandalas.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We feel time alone is important so we only ask 4 hours per day with two days to yourself.

    If you love the outdoors, then you'd be at peace here with forests to get lost in, forage, or just meditate in, hills, valleys, canyons, unexplored caves to lose yourself in, unlimited top class climbing opportunities (bring your own gear), a lake to lounge beside or fish in and of course there is ultimate freedom and wild hiking abound and a traditional Bulgarian way of life to learn.

    We have some of Bulgaria's top natural attractions not too far away;
    The Eye's of God cave (Prohodna Cave)
    Ledinika Cave
    Iskur Gorge (especially wise to take the train to us, from Sofia as it passes through this magnificent place)
    Belogradchik Fortress
    Belogradchik rocks, reminded me of the red rocks of Utah!
    Vratsa waterfall

    A note for rock climbers.
    A 2016 article on none other than climbing.com, the writer claims the Vratsa region of Bulgaria as having the 'coolest crag I've ever seen' amongst every possible types of climbing. The area is a little known, but growing in popularity climbing region. We are located just a 30 minutes from that Prohodna or 'Eyes of God' cave so why not come help us out and spend two days straight climbing on your days off ;)

    Don't bring your troubles, your cigarettes, your emotional baggage, negative attitude or your aggression...there's just no place in this world for those things anymore.

    This is a peaceful house, in a peaceful village, in a peaceful country and if we can all respect not only each other, but the environment around us and appreciate our time and space on this earth then we will all be doing our part to make the world a better place. :)

    Namaste
    Greg and Laura

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want to learn a way of life that is being lost in this fast paced, money driven world then this place could be right up your street!
    The neighbours still tend their sheep, make their own cheese and milk and guide their horse and cart through the village.
    We are away from the modern world and it can offer you a perfect space to relax, let your perspectives shift and re-focus on your own journey.
    We hope to make that possible for all our volunteers :)

    With our projects this year, if you come with no knowledge, don't worry....we'll use the internet, trial and error and learn together!

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    20 hours per week


Photos

Click images to enlarge

The view from our garden out over the rolling hills and forests.
Our travel inspired volunteers room.
The bright, sunny entrance hall/summer room.
Your hosts, Greg and Laura.
Never forget this mantra!
Words from the big guy himself!
Belogradchik Rocks are not so far away from us and a beautiful place to explore and climb.
Host ref number: 625936398989

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts