Family looking for an extra pair of hands in Akureyri, Iceland

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    24/02/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    64.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Before you read more: we would prefer a female volunteer, nothing personal male.
    We are family of 6 living centralt in Akureyri (the Capital of North). We are Ragna Valdís og Jakob and our four children. Blædís Björt 14 years old, Amanda Ösp 10 years old, Sebastían Smári 5 years old and Jónatan Blær almost 3 years old. Jakob is a carpenter and Ragna is an occupational therapist.
    We enjoy being outdoors in the nature, dancing, listening to music etc. We also like to enjoy good food together as a family.
    There's never a quiet moment around us, so if you don't like action our home would not be there place. We are interested in meeting new people and so we would like to get to know a work awayer. We are flexible and solution oriented :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We need some assistance in our home to help with the children and basic household tasks such as cooking and other daily tasks of a large household. We need an extra set of hands around the house now because Jakob is temporarily working overseas for a few weeks at a time and Ragna also works out of the home part time so me help during this time would be greatly appreciated. It would mostly be help during the mornings with getting the children ready for school and preschool and then in the afternoons/evenings so the work awayer would also have quite a bit of time for themselves.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Icelandic, danish, english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a large house in a central location in Akureyri. There are four bedrooms and two bathrooms, a large living room etc. We can give a better description of the house and some pictures in private facebook messages.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Akureyri is a small town in the North of Iceland, very beautiful with a population of 18.000 people. Akureyri has several swimmingpools, nice restaurants, bars and shops. The bus runs for free all days. There is much to see in our area. There would also be the opportunity to get to know other work awayers and plenty of free time to explore the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The work awayer would get to experience the typical busy Icelandic family-life with lots of fun and action. We could help our work-awayer with their travel, advise them of interesting places to see in the area and try to make their journey as fun and exciting as we can.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours per day maximum


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 621675375665

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts