Please use your browser's back button.

Help with sled dogs in British Columbia.

Country: Canada

Workaway Host rating
1
Last Activity
22/07/2014

Description

We are a family owned sled dog tour company. We have been in business for 15 years offering high quality excursions to people all over the world.
Our kennel consists mostly Alaskan Huskies. We have recently had an addition to the family, our beautiful daughter and while I mostly did all the chores myself, I have found myself very much in need of alot more help now. We have always had people inquire to stay and work here but have never needed it until our daughter arrived.
For Summer, we are looking for single persons to stay and help us take care of the sled dogs, as well as other business related projects as we aim to continue to improve their standard of living. Facilities, kennel, trails, garden, the yard work also require help as we work to inhance our overall big picture. This extra help will allow me to get my office work done as well as more time with my daughter. We seek this/these person(s) from mid April to mid September annually. We are open to you staying minimum 2 weeks preferably 3 at a time and can negotiate longer stays after that. We wish you to bring skills to contribute to our situation, you must be physically fit, with a good strong back, good work ethic, and positive attitude. Must be independant and able to work alone at times. Note we have the 5th wheel trailer for you to stay in to allow you your own private space as we need ours as well. Our home is used for meals, but other then that it is mostly off limits. So there will be times when you will have to entertain yourself.

For this winter, we are looking for a LIVE IN NANNY from mid October to mid April. This person needs to speak fluent english, beable to cook, play and teach my daughter Jordyn, (will be 2 in November) developmental skills. Jordy is very easy and loves to be outside, so we'd love you to love the out doors as well. An international drivers license is benificail both to us and you as we are 37kms from nearest town. My husband would be around to do the `parenting`` and would most likely have her tag along with him alot, but we need someone to be around incase he cannot be here as he is incharge of safety for the tours and trail maint so sometimes he also will be on the trail.
I would also like this person to want to answer the phone and take reservations when I am not avail to do so, as well as get trail lunches ready for the next day. This will involve baking! We are willing to pay someone a bit for this part of the expectations (if they have a working visa). Of course if the dogs are of interest there is opportunity to help out there or just go for a few rides as jordyn loves to go mushing! If you are interested, I can explain this all in more detail. Just contact me.

I am able to show both summer and winter helpers some sites or guide you in the direction of them. We are located 1 hour from Jasper Alberta which is a Rocky Mountain tourist town with many amenities, and 15 minutes from Mount Robson (highest peak in the Canadian Rockies). There is much river rafting, kayaking, hiking, camping, fishing and any other outdoor activity imaginable. We also own a couple cozy quaint cabins in the back country which you will have access to.

Area

British Columbia

Type of help

Teaching,
Help with Computers / internet,
Language practise,
Helping with Tourists,
Animal care,
Help in the house,
General Maintenance,
Cooking / shopping,
Babysitting / child care,
Building,
Gardening

Help

We are avail for someone for a couple weeks mid month for june, july and aug. And seeking the right person for our Winter live in Nanny from Oct/Nov to mid April/May.

Languages spoken

English

Accommodation

For SUMMER -We have a 5th wheel trailer which is loaded with kitchen and shower. The outhouse is the toilet as there is no septic hookup for the trailer. 1 queen bed in trailer.

For WINTER - Spare bedroom in our house, unless we provide a house rental for winter guides you would have the option to live there instead if you preferred.

What else ...

For the summer mostly it would be the general maintenance of the dogs, feeding, cleaning, kennel improvements and dog house building so guys with carpentry skills is an asset. Also firewood needs to be done as well.

For winter, child care should be your main interest.

Some more information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Volunteering hours expected

30hrs /week - for summer Full time - for winter

Photos

Click to enlarge

The kennel
The kennel
Fall training
Fall training
The cabin up the trail at 15km for recreational use.
The cabin up the trail at 15km for recreational use.
Our cabin at 7km up the trail system which is available for rec use as well there are a few projects scheduled for it this summer.
Our cabin at 7km up the trail system which is available for rec use as well there are a few projects scheduled for it this summer.
Moose pass ~ a local multi day hike
Moose pass ~ a local multi day hike
Host ref number: 565723115532

Feedback left about host

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share