Experimenting permaculture and eco-friendly building in Lebanon

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    30/03/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Our farm, "Les Racines du Ciel", is located in the mountains of Nahar Ibrahim Valley. The house belongs to Raed's family and I'm (Joanna) a French architect. Our aim is to create a place to promote both permaculture gardening and eco friendly building. We try to live a sustainable life as much as possible in many different ways : eating what we grow, and transform, reducing garbage, experimenting permaculture principles, reducing water consumption and experimenting natural building.

    Raed works in the apple orchard, the small vineyard and in the vegetable garden. He sells his products every Saturday at Beyrouth's organic market. I'm experimenting natural building with eco-friendly material ( earth, reed, straw,...) at the farm and on small projects in Lebanon.

    This spring we are planning to start hosting people in our Bed and Breakfast and we will continue the eco-friendly building workshops ( making earth bricks and plastering earth). There is also plenty of work in the garden and in the kitchen. So there will be a lot of different things happening !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    We usually host volunteers from March to end of October to help us in the garden and/or in the building projects.
    Depending on the season, we need help in different things :

    It's usually mainly in the garden with Raed or in the kitchen to transform the products ( jam, compote, pesto, olives, liquor, juice, drying fruits or herbs etc.). On Fridays, we usually harvest fruits and vegetables for Beyrouth's market on Saturdays. Please be aware that because we don't use chemicals, there is usually quite a lot of weeding to do :-)

    You can also help in the (just starting) building projects : plastering earth, experimenting structures with recycled material, experimenting wooden structures.

    We usually ask volunteers to help around 5hours/day from Mondays to Fridays so that you have your week-ends free to chill out or to discover the rest of the country.

    We also ask volunteers to help cook lunch, making bread and cleaning the house (once a week).

    We have been hosting for one year now and its really an opportunity for us to learn, exchange and spend nice moments together. We like volunteers to be curious and interested in what we do here and we're happy to learn new skills or new recipes from you ! If you are a musician, you are welcome to share your art with us, Raed plays a little oud and I m learning ukulele.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Arabic, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will share the house with us and you will have a bed in a small dorm with a shared bathroom.
    We eat together fruits and vegetables from the garden and also dairy products from shepherds of the valley. We try to be as conscious as possible in what we eat and we are both vegetarian.
    Sometimes, we have lunch together with Raed's family, so you can discover the typical Lebanese food !

    We usually host volunteers for two weeks, if possible from a Sunday to a Saturday.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many nice walks to do around, the Afqa spring is 1 hour walk from the house and from there you can hike on the LMT, a beautiful trail of 470km. There is also the Jabal Moussa reserve not far from the house.

    If you are interested to come to our place, please don't contact us more than two months before the moment you are willing to come.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At our place you will learn about the Lebanese culture, Raed's father is from the village and we try to use traditional recipes when we cook or in our products. Also, during summer, there is all the family around so you will learn about the modern Lebanese way of life !
    For languages, when we are just the two of us, we don't talk much in Arabic but if you want to learn that language, we can make an effort as Raed is fluent in Arabic and I'm currently learning. When all the family is here, you will hear a lot of Arabic.
    Apart from that you will of course learn a lot about organic gardening, cooking and about eco-friendly building.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 558737369776

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.

Excellent
(Excellent)

This Workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts