Please use your browser's back button.

Help a family in Italy

Country: Italy

Updated

Workaway Host rating
21
Last Activity
21/08/2014

Description

We are a Dutch family running a organic farm at Rotella since 2011, close to the beautiful city of Ascoli Piceno in the Marches. The crops we commercially grow are saffron, carrots and raspberries. This spring we will have a trial cultivating carrots, corn and salad for seed.
We have 2 children, Mels (a 6-year old chap) and Filippa (a 3-year old lady). Their dad, Caspar, enjoys working in the field but he also loves cooking (a.o. with saffron! and is sometimes asked as a chef for events, groups or workshops cooking with saffron) next to that he also loves to re structure the farm with things that are already there. Their mum, Anne, also loves to work on the land, enjoys cooking vegetarian meals and she teaches yoga locally and organizes yoga holidays. Lots of things going on where a helping hand is more than welcome!



Siamo una famiglia olandese e, da quasi quattro anni abbiamo una azienda agricola biologico. Abitiamo nelle Marche, a Rotella (pochi kilometri di Ascoli Piceno) e coltiviamo per vendere lo zafferano, le carote e i lamponi. Questo primavera elargiamo con una prova a coltivare carote, mais e insalata per raccogliere il sementi. Ci sono due bimbi, un ragazzino (si chiama Mels) che ha 6 anni e la piu piccola della famiglia ha 3 anni (si chiama Filippa). I loro genitori si chiamano Anne e Caspar.

Area

Marche

Type of help

Help with Computers / internet,
Other,
Help in the house,
Farming,
General Maintenance,
Cooking / shopping,
Babysitting / child care,
Building,
Gardening

Help

As you can imagine there's a lot to do at the farm. We planted saffron bulbs and will have a harvest in October and November each year. We pick the saffron flowers by hand and then dry the stigmas (the actual saffron ) directly afterwards. So a hand (or more) is more then welcome in that period!

Next to saffron we grow raspberries and carrots. All organically, so lots of manual work there in weeding, mulching, and in summer there are weeks of almost daily harvest of raspberries. Next the professional crops we grow as much as possible our own veggies and herbs. We love cooking with what we have and make meals to be as delicious as possible, to have a relaxed and nice time at the table. If you would like help with the household and cooking and the kids during holiday's it's also much appreciated!

We started on restructering the farmhouse and it's buildings. We try to recycle and re use a lot so if you're interested in eco building and lifestyle, come out to experience, share, learn and help. In winters we cook on a woodstove which also heats the water. Chopping wood is one of the daily tasks at that point. If you decide to apply, please let us know your preference (what would you like to do and also what not).
We have two lovely dogs, cats and chickens.

Languages spoken

Dutch, Italian, English, German, French

Accommodation

We have two spare bedrooms (with a view!) and we're willing to share the rest of the house with you. Because it's an old farm house life is still very simple. We have a woodstove to cook on which also heats the radiators in the house and hot water. It's basic but we do have a wifi connection. We cook as organically as possible, mainly from our own vegetable garden. We always take time to prepare and enjoy our food. If you like to cook, we're also very interested to learn your cuisine!

What else ...

Those who would like to help us are basiclly welcome all year round. We prefer people to stay with us for a longer period (a couple of weeks), but other suggestions are welcome.

During the weekends and/or other spare time you can visit lovely hilltop villages like Offida, Montalto, Montedinove and the splendid Ascoli Piceno. Since we consider you as part of the family you're welcome to come with us on family outings.
We have mountainbikes that you can use to cycle up our beautifull Monte Ascensione. Or you can simply hike up there, visiting an old santuary as you pass by. Looking forward to meet you!

Some more information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Volunteering hours expected

4 to 5 hours, depending on the activities related to the season

Photos

Click to enlarge

Host ref number: 5271645534df

Feedback left about host

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share