Help take care of our land, organic vegetable gardens in Pucon, Chile

new host

  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate


  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day



  • Description


    We are homeopathic doctors in our 60s who live half in the U.S. (an island near Seattle, Washington) and half in Pucón, Chile. We found a spectacular piece of land here in Chile, which we named Ayun Mapu (Land of Love in the Mapuche language), and have spent the past 12 years turning it into a paradise. Our land enjoys amazing views of the Volcano (Rukapillán or Villarrica) and Lake Villarrica. We never tire of the natural beauty: the expansive sky; the verdant, green mountains; the snow-capped volcano; the warm sunshine; the pouring rain; the powerful puelche wind from Argentina. It is our job to care for this land, and that is why we need your help! We have planted a wonderful, organic vegetable garden (with two small greenhouses), a virtual arboretum of flowers and bushes, and fruit trees that are just now starting to mature. There are many maqui bushes (tiny purple berries that are the highest in antioxidants), native trees all over, and 360-degree views. Our wonderful caretaker, Nelson, needs help to take care of it all! We share our land with our two golden retrievers, a resident German shepherd, five rescue cats, sheep (including three milkers), chickens, and a family of bees who recently joined us and stayed. Our farm is for our own production. Aside from our house and Nelson's family house, we have two vacation cabins and our volunteers' cabin. We are a 30 to 40 minute walk from Pucón, the popular adventure capital of Chile.

  • Type of help

    Type of help


  • Help


    We need help starting in August through April. You'll be helping 25 hours a week and will have time, after that, to go hiking, climb the volcano, go to hot springs, and explore.The jobs vary seasonally. Most of the help is in the gardens, but sometimes we need wood stacked or have other projects. There is always something to do! We like to have TWO volunteers at a time. YOU NEED TO SPEAK SPANISH because you are supervised by Nelson. NONSMOKERS only, please. PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE IN GARDENING AND WITH PLANTS, PLEASE. We need FRIENDLY, flexible, mature, curious, independent, communicative, willing workers. NO DRUGS, please, and minimal alcohol use, please. Volunteers with a natural lifestyle and interests are preferred. The weather is quite changeable in Southern Chile, so come prepared with warm clothes, rain clothes

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French

  • Accommodation


    A new, homey volunteers' cabin in the woods 3 minutes from our house. It has a kitchen, bathroom, living/dining area, and a bedroom with twin beds for two. You will prepare your own meals. We provide basic staples (pasta, flour, oil, etc) and give you a stipend for some of your additional needs like eggs, dairy, produce.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Pucón is a popular international tourist destination. In your free time you can go into town (lots of restaurants and activities), hike, climb the volcano, river raft, kayak, go to a hot springs or waterfall. We are very active and take Pilates and Zumba classes in town. When you are not working, you can either hitchhike, get a ride with us, or rest/read/relax. This is our third year of having volunteers. We expect that you will enjoy working here, amidst the remarkable natural beauty, and take advantage of what we have to offer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have traveled to 40+ countries and love to make friends from all over the world. If you are interested in natural medicine, lifestyle, meditation, etc, we are happy to be resources. You will learn a lot about Chilean language and daily life from Nelson and his wife, Ana María. We often invite our volunteers to join us for a movie and popcorn, to cultural events in town, or to cook together a meal from your native country.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    25 hours a week


Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 445576769292

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts