Please use your browser's back button.

Volunteer in the French countryside preparing gites.

Country: France

Updated

Workaway Host rating
6
Last Activity
18/04/2014

Description

We are an English family who operate 2 gites in the beautiful French countryside. 1 hour south of Toulouse and 35 mins from Carcassonne. Help is needed with gardening and general maintenance. The 3 properties (we live in 1 of them) are situated in 3 hectares, with a private pool, a lake, spectacular views of the Pyrennees and very rural, we are 15 mins drive away from the closest town, where young night life is very limited. We have 2 dogs, a Boxer and a Terrier, a handful of chickens. Mums an artist and runs the gites and loves her big vegetable garden, (a great cook too), Dads a builder who is very busy. 1 daughter travelling and a son the at Uni. We are a very easy going household. We are looking for help in May to tidy up the terraces and gardens and general maintenance. We are also looking for help in the summer of 2014 with the gites changeovers and gardening in exchange for free accomodation in a mobile home.

Area

Languedoc Roussillon

Type of help.

Help in the house,
General Maintenance,
Gardening

Help

Jobs include, helping getting the 2 gites ready for the summer season, this involves a freshing up of paintwork and general cleaning and manintenance. The biggest part of the job is gardening, gardening and more gardening. We have all the equipment, strimmers, sit on mowers etc. We have lots of enthusiasm but not enough hours in the day to do it all ourselves. We are ideally looking for a couple to come and help get the gites and garden ready for 3 weeks in May.
Then for a couple perhaps th same couple to stay for the summer and help with gite changeovers and gardening.

Languages spoken

English and French

Accommodation

We have either a double bedroom in our house or if you prefer we have a mobile home that is more private. Whichever, we are perfectly happy to have you as part of our family when you are here.

What else ...

We have had lots of lovely workaways help us over the years, all have remained good friends and some have stopped a lot longer than because they loved it here so much!

Some more information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Volunteering hours expected

4-5 hours per day.

Photos

Click to enlarge

Host ref number: 3736691464d3

Feedback left about host

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share