Stay inside the fort and help with computers, cooking and guests at our hotel. Jaisalmer, India

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    21/01/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    Something about myself...

    My name is Ba and I grew up in Barna, a village south of Jaisalmer, where I worked as a farmer for many years.
    About three years ago, I started to organize camel safaris to the desert and sharing my knowledge about wildlife and plants with different travelers. From there I decided to open this hotel to become more central. That's how my hotel was born.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We are located inside the Fort, just a few meters from the main gate. We have a sunny rooftop cafe with a beautiful view of the Maharaja Palace. Evenings are a great time to learn how to play and enjoy traditional Rajasthani Folk music with local musicians. I enjoy the contact and exchange with travellers and am happy to teach you about the Indian way of life. I also enjoy cooking very much and you're welcome to join me in the kitchen and to learn how to prepare some typical vegetarian Indian dishes.

    I am looking for volunteers that can help me with basic tasks around the guest house. For the most part they are:

    -Simple computer tasks ie. checking emails and updating bookings websites
    -Maintaining the cleanliness of the common areas and checked out rooms


    If you are interested staying long-term I also have two mud houses in Jaisalmer, just outside the fort. Here, I would like to host volunteers that are interested in teaching and gardening. I prefer if these volunteers stay for a minimum of 1 month, so that they can get well-acquainted with the community. These tasks will include:
    -Teaching English to local children
    -Gardening
    -Maintaining/renovating mud houses

    There are many other things that would be greatly appreciated..
    -Painting and decorating the hotel roof top
    -Teaching me how to write English and use the computer
    -Bring your great ideas to make this place attractive and welcoming!

    Here in jaisalmer, there is a big problem with reading and writing.
    In my own old house I am starting a project to teach the children from poor communities, I am running a small school which will be free.
    This place is good but needs a bit of improvement as it it an organic construction, so requires maintenance. I would also like to make this place harmonius with some paintings, decorations, planting flowers, or anything that you think would be good to attract these children.
    I am alone on this new project and would love people who want to give me a hand.

    If you can help me with any of this, I would be glad to provide food and accommodation in exchange. The minimum stay is around 7 days for short-term and 1 month for long-term. Between 1 to 3 volunteers at a time, depending on the work available.

    If you're interested, please contact me by email. Phone is best if you want an immediate response as I am relying on volunteers to check emails as my written English is still very basic.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Hindi, Rajasthani, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I give volunteers a simple bedroom with a shared bathroom and of course I provide food. When my guesthouse is booked up you will sleep outdoors on the rooftop.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Work time is generally in the mornings, though this can be flexible. The Fort is a wonderful place to spend your spare time and there are plenty of sights just a short distance away. I speak good English, but I am learning now to read and write, so at the moment if you want more information feel free to contact me by telephone. Emails will be replied to by volunteers when they are here helping out.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    4-5 hours per day


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 317188714631

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

This Workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts