Help us rebuild our outhouse on an island, in a remote and beautiful part of northern Norway

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    15/02/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family (3 children) living in a remote and beautiful part of northern Norway, north of the Arctic Circle, on an island. Robin is English and Kitty Norwegian. Our 3 children are: Sindre (boy, 15 yrs) ; Karin (girl, 14) and Emily (girl, 9). We came to N.Norway 13 years ago from the high arctic islands of Svalbard where we ran a dog-sledging station. Our present home comprises two houses, one of which is visitor accommodation of a high standard. We run a small tourist business comprising Bed & Breakfast, fjord tours and mountain hiking. We emphasize that this is a particularly beautiful area where we are surrounded by mountains, forests, fjords and islands. The area is clean and relatively unpolluted. Fishing is part of the way of life, and our neighbours include sea eagles, moose, otter, reindeer, as well as a considerable number of migratory birds.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Help

    Help

    During the months of July & August 2016, when there is the midnight sun, we plan to demolish our old outhouse (15x3m) and build a new one. We need one or two persons to help us build the new outhouse/carport of much the same size, so basic carpentry skills are necessary. We expect a day of around 5 hours. We have no other projects, so a positive attitude, plus a good sense of humour will be a great help to get the building completed.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Norwegian, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will be accommodated in our vistor accommodation, close to the building project. This is a Norwegian timber house from 1850 that has been completely restored, offering all mod cons. There are three bedrooms. Meals can be eaten seperately or with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This area is an eldorado for nature lovers who want to be off-the-beaten-track. Opportunities for fishing, boating, hiking - and longer sightseeing trips can be arranged. As a family we live a fairly structured life, have an interest in alternative lifestyles, and are well settled into the routine of living a quiet country life, with about 30 neighbours dotted around us. Small-time dairy farming is the main occupation here. The nearest village is 25 kms away, with one supermarket, one hotel, and one garage. Public transport is irregular., but we can help when necessary with one of our two cars.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 248541464994

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts