Artist looking for helpers and new friends!

Country:

Workaway Host rating
Last Activity
28/08/2015

2015

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
show 2016




  • Description

    Description

    Hi!
    I am a 57 year old female artist living in a big house in western Norway.

    I work as an artist like a "bricoleur", I like to put things together from what is available. I make installations from thousands of little things. I had an atists grand from the government, but no longer. I need to make money to survive., so I rent rooms and have a small cafe. I would like to make my house into a creative place for people to stay for shorter or longer terms, like an artists residency/bed &breakfast. I also want to use the cafe for small events, local artists etc. Time will show.
    I live alone, I am divorced and have grownup children, a boy and a girl, and two beautiful grandchildren. They live in Bergen, one hour by train/car from here. They visit me and help me when they can.
    The village I am living in is small, but beautiful, by a lake and surrounded by mountains. It is 20 km to Voss, the skisenter. The nature around here is beautiful withe great paths for mountain hiking in summer/autumn. In the winter it is lots of skiing possibilities. It is not far to the fjords either.
    I like to get to know people, I am open minded and creative. I also like to cook, and to be cooked for...
    This spring we need to do a lot of cleaning and painting before season opening. I also have a lot of work that needs skills like carpeting and masonry.
    I need some help with cooking and serving too. I will find different work that that the visitor can do.We open the in summer and we are doing very well!
    My fantastic workawayers make it possible to make my dream become reality!
    We make great dinners on Saturdays and Sundays. We make the best organic, fairtrade coffe with our Elektra super duper espressomaskin!
    We just finished our new dormitory, so we will now also be a great place for backpackers!
    Sincerely

    Mona

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    I bought this house four years ago and I am makeing an art- and culture house. It is a large wooden house in 3 floors, totally about 500 square meters. There is a cafe on the groundfloor, an apartment in the 2. and 4 bedrooms in the 3. In Summer I need help in the cafe and cleaning rooms, mainly...
    Further there are two more rooms in each floor that I will use as storeplace, atelier etc...
    It is lots of space here and it would be nice to have a "handyman/woman" to help me with different work in the house. Painting inside/outside. It would be lovely to have joiner or someone with knowledge about carpentering or/ and masonry...
    I want to make the rooms for rent like artistic rooms, so if you are creative/artistic it would be great! We can make new furnitures from old ones, paint, decorate etc...
    I think it will be good if you stay for more than just a few days!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have now made a simple room for workawayers.
    I have to keep the good rooms free to rent, cause I am really in need of making money... We will share kitchen, living rooms and bathroom. In Summer we use the cafe as living room...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It would be great to have workawayers in may-september. In this house there will be enough work for years...
    I can also offer backpackers cheap accommodation if I have free rooms at the moment, and you help me a bit.. Maybe sing/play an instrument in the cafe?
    (I have a super italian coffee-machine ;-)
    The village I live in is really small! Just one street and very few people!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours.


Photos

My artworks

These are examples of my artworks. It is installations made of thousands of small items that most people throw away... I make different "madalas" or symbols that just lay on the floor for a certain time. I want to say something about the beauty of everything and the crazy consumer policy...

Click images to enlarge

Karin and Katie in action last summer.
Host ref number: 19574614864d

Feedback left by and about host

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Very good
(Very good)

Very good
(Very good)

Very good
(Very good)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

No show
(Negative)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

This Workawayer has chosen to keep ptheir profile private.

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts