Please use your browser's back button.

Ecological project needs helpers in Asturias, Spain

Country: Spain

Updated

Workaway Host rating
16
Last Activity
14/09/2014

Description

We need help from October 2014

At Fontebona we try to live as natural and self-sustaining as possible. We have the intention to set up a natural camp-site or a retreat centre for nature lovers. Fontebona is a beautiful place. It's just that our mini natural paradise still needs quite some fine-tuning. That's where you come in.

Who are we looking for?

The helpers (max. 2) we are looking for should be, like us, motivated to dare to pioneer and be prepared to live according to a low standard of living. We are looking for helpers that respect our way of life, have a great love for nature, are not afraid in the dark nor afraid of some dirt, and enjoy working outside. Enjoyed nature as a child already? That must mean you will find Fontebona wonderful. We ask you to work with us 25 hours a week. We ask you to bring your own workclothes and rainwear.

We prefer people that already have some working experience, and run their own home. Helpers with working experience in forestry or horticulture and also (technical) odd-job (wo)man are very welcome. Can you combine that with a positive, creative and pro-active attitude? Then you're more than welcome! You should always ask if we can have you, because in the end the click is more important to us than what specific skills you have.

How long?

We understand perfectly well that you want to travel, but you will only feel at home if you really want to stay at Fontebona. That's why we ask you to commit yourself for at least a month to our project. This gives us time to invest in you, so you don't only learn where to find the biscuit tin, but we can also show you the ropes so you can work solo.

In other words, we are very pleased to invest time and effort in you, but we ask this same attitude from you. In return? In return we love to share our knowledge and experiences, if needed with a beer or a (home made) cider next to a camp fire. We know a lot about living a live as self-sustaining as possible, but we can also brush up your knowledge about art, mushrooms, philosophy or the pruning of your sweet chestnut tree. Or about whatever that makes you tick. We like to go on an excursion with you, if time allows that.

What's to be done?

We will mainly ask you to take over some of the routine jobs, like watering and weeding the vegetable garden, taking care of the donkeys and their crap, feeding the animals, lugging wood, cooking (if you know how to work with our seasonal supply of food), removing bracken and gorse. Sometimes you can help us make our homemade products like jam, chutney, gherkins, sauerkraut or cider.

What are you getting into?

Though Infiesto with all basic facilities is only 4 or 5 beautiful hiking kilometers away, a stay at Fontebona is quite isolated. There are no next-door neighbours. At Fontebona it's usually only us and our very modest livestock (1 dog, 1 cat, 2 donkeys, 2 sheep, 3 chickens). You have much more chance of meeting yourself than someone else.

We sleep in an old German wagon. For you we have a sleeping place (hot water bottles and 1 warming cat available) in our old camper van. We have only very limited internet at your disposal. Checking your e-mail is usually no problem, but for other purposes we ask you to go to Infiesto where the Telecentro has free broadband internet for you. We have very limited solar power, so you cannot automatically recharge your equipment. The good news is that we have warm water in the panoramic shower.

Who we are?

We are Thomas and Astrid. A Dutch couple in their forties that settled for this independent lifestyle a few years ago. We enjoy meeting new people and learning new things from them in a companiable atmosphere, in which team effort plays a big role. We do not smoke, do like a beer, wine or cider, but don't do other drugs. We don´t expect you to have the same habits.

To conclude

Please tell us in your e-mail what is your reason for wanting to come to Fontebona, and in which month you are available.

Area

Asturias

Type of help

Teaching,
Other,
Language practise,
Helping with Tourists,
Animal care,
Help in the house,
Help with Eco project,
Farming,
General Maintenance,
Cooking / shopping,
Building,
Gardening

Help

-

Languages spoken

dutch, english, spanish, german, french

Accommodation

For you we have a sleeping place in our little camper van.

What else ...

We usually do not mind if you bring your dog.

Town (Infiesto) is 4 km away. We're in the mountains, but not too high (250m). The National Park Picos de Europa is about 20 km's away. Beach is half an hour drive, and also to be reached by train or bus. The bigger cities (Oviedo, Gijón) are about 45 car/bus/train minutes away.

Volunteering hours expected

25 hours per week

Photos

Fontebona

An impression of our place

Click to enlarge

Relaxing on the terrace
Relaxing on the terrace
The central service area
The central service area
Resting in a hammock
Resting in a hammock
Lola and Añes
Lola and Añes
Sweet chestnuts on one of our camp fires
Sweet chestnuts on one of our camp fires
Host ref number: 19383351374c

Feedback left about host

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share