Please use your browser's back button.

Help with DIY jobs and renovation in Pyrennees, France

Country: France

Updated

Workaway Host rating
17
Last Activity
07/10/2014

Description

We need couples with happy to work in the veggie garden and with animals all year round. Also interested to hear from any carpenters 5window sills and skirting boards) or IT wizards to add a few photos to our current website!
Larger projects for 2015, looking for landscape gardener types and exterior lime washing of the house.
We are a fun loving family of Matt, Becky, Edouard (8) and Henri (6) and Dusty (cocker spaniel) Heidi (labrodoodle) Bobby and Molly the cats and Pinky and Perky (the pigs) and a few chickens!
We are looking for a bit of extra help to finish off those odd jobs around the property and under take general gardening/landscaping projects. Whilst we have renovated our home over the last 9 years, our busy lifes are made easier with extra hands.

Area

Midi Pyrenees

Type of help

Animal care,
Help in the house,
General Maintenance,
Cooking / shopping,
Building,
Gardening

Help

All year round veggie plot assistance. Helping around the property with general DIY projects and lifestyle chores such as chopping fire wood and animal care including dog walking!
Main jobs for 2015
We would love to invite a carpenter to make wooden windowsills and skirting boards . The garden really needs reshaping with boulder rock wall and paving so any buddy landscapers please get in contact to arrange a stay.

Languages spoken

English and some French

Accommodation

Own double bedroom, with use of family bathroom or wetroom.
Our house is fully gas centrally heated and has stove for added romantic warmth, so very warm even during the cool spells. Equally with big stone walls and shutters very cool during the summer.

What else ...

We ask for 26 hours a week in return for three meals a day and your own room with facilities. You can make up the hours as you wish, a few hours each day or full on days! We require a couple who can work on their own with guidance, as with two children under 8 and jobs we are not always about. Use of Internet, UK land lines telephone calls and mountain bikes to get around. We ask if we cook you wash up or vice versa.
We would prefer a male/female couple ideally aged between 24 and 45ish happy to fit in with busy family.With two active boys the house is never quiet!
We would prefer people with some DIY experience or gardening skills. Although we are happy to teach very practical people new building skills. We only except non smokers. We eat alot of what we grow and produce. We believe in a heathly varied diet including vegetarian, meat, fish, eggs and fruits.
The area is rich in mountain scenery and great those who like to be out and about. It is also quite and tranquil and a great place to relax. Sporting activities throughout the year are nearby from skiing to rock climbing.
Our village has its own shop and bar/restaurant so although rural not completely cut off.

Some more information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Volunteering hours expected

5 hours a day over a 5 day week (weekends off)

Photos

Guest room

Click to enlarge

Host ref number: 17554971574c

Feedback left about host

by Charlotte
by Alison
by imogen
by Damian
by Adam
by Helena
by Helena
by David
by Jared
by Deborah
by paul

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share