British family with 5 children living in the mountains looking out over the Spanish mediterranean coast

updated

Country:

Workaway Host rating
Last Activity
02/09/2015

2015

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
show 2016




  • Description

    Description

    We are an English family living in the mountains of Spain about 30 minutes inland from the Costa Blanca Mediterranean coast (midway between Valencia and Alicante). Phil and Jo are in their mid-forties, a teacher and musician, and both speak 5 languages (English, Spanish, French, German and Russian). We have five children between the ages of 18 and 8 (one now studying music in England).

    We live in a solar and wind-powered wooden house at 800 metres altitude, with fantastic views out over the Mediterranean to Ibiza and in the other direction towards ridges of high mountains.

    We have a smallholding, consisting of goats, horses, a donkey, chickens, rabbits and extensive vegetable garden. We also have cherry and other fruit trees.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for individuals or a couple to stay for free in return for help around the house, and with the animals and vegetable patch. There might also be small building projects.

    The main accomodation is a large, comfortable caravan (using the bathroom facilities in the house). There is also a wooden cabin. The type of accomodation available will depend on the number of volunteers and other visitors - you need to be flexible (you can camp in our cherry orchard in the summer months if you prefer). We will always do our best to ensure that you are comfortable.

    We use caravan-style portable toilets in the volunteer accomodation and a composting toilet in the house. So if you cannot live without a flushing toilet, this is not the place for you!

    After welcoming volunteers for more than three years, we are experienced hosts and almost always find jobs which our volunteers enjoy doing. There are also daily routine tasks which simply need to be done (we are a household of up to 10 people including volunteers)! Ideally we are looking for people who are either prepared to help with cooking and household tasks, or with animals and other outside jobs, or both.

    Both parents are now out at work during the week, and the children (after many years of home education) are all at school. So volunteers will need to be happy to enjoy the beautiful space alone during weekdays, helping in particular by feeding the animals in the late afternoon and preparing evening meals from time to time.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French, German, Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Caravan or wooden cabin (optional camping in the cherry orchard)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can also offer language tuition, music therapy and massage, meditation and breathwork, either ourselves or as part of the wider community which we are part of here in the beautiful mountains.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    Around five per day, but flexible as to how and when the hours are worked.


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 17185784514a

Feedback left by and about host

Very good
(Very good)

Negative
(Negative)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

No show
(Negative)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts