Please use your browser's back button.

Participez à divers projets dans une ferme norvégienne

Pays: Norvège

Updated

Évaluation d'hôte Workaway
22
Activité récente
07.23.2014

Description

Hello, welcome to my farm. My name is Anne Helene and I'm the proud owner of a traditional Norwegian farm (in fact I'm an 11th generation farmer, so my family goes back a long time on this farm). Although living on a traditional farm, my boyfriend and I don't lead a traditional family life. Our children (five in total) are all teenagers, some of them live on the farm permanently, others stay here on a more irregular base.

My family has a long tradition (more than 20 years) of having people of various ages and from many different countries around the world, staying here through different exchange and volunteer programs. Therefore we have a good experience in making the workers time with us as exciting and fun as possible. And we all speak fluently English.

Nowadays, our family lives by the land and the wood. We have a few horses, some sheep and goats, bunnies, hens, ducks, cats and a dog. Also do we rent out stables to several other horse owners.
The farm has a small workshop and cleaners, where local people can wash, clean and repair leather and thick fabrics (horse equipment, belts and so on).
Furthermore, there are two houses with apartments, and a small traditional cabin on the property. Several young professionals rent apartments on the farm, so they are part of our small “community”.

On the farm I run a small organization that tries to help young pupils that have problems with coping in school. By giving them the necessary attention, offering them a listening ear, learning and working together with them on all sorts of practical jobs on the farm, we try to show them all kind of opportunities they have in life. I have a diploma as a special educator, and I use methods of teaching that is a combination of theoretical and practical learning.

Région

East of Norway, Oppland county

Type d'aide

Enseignement,
Autres,
Tourisme,
Aide avec les animaux,
Aide à la maison,
Eco-volontariat,
Aide à la ferme,
Entretien / Bricolage,
Cuisine / courses,
Baby-sitting / garde d’enfant,
Construction,
Jardinage

Aide

There is always a lot to do around here. Varying from some daily (routine) jobs, in and around the house (which includes taking care of the animals) to specific 'projects' that are going on. A lot of these projects depend on the time of year. So have a look at our schedule for this year:

February - June: Masonry and carpentry
For building new rooms and rebuilding the boxes in the stable we need somebody with experience in masonry and carpentry (concrete, rendering, carpentry, plumbing, etc.).

March – September: Seeding, planting, harvesting and picking berries
We start with sowing seeds for vegetables and herbs in the spring. They are planted out in the beginning of May. During the summer months these have to be taken care of (10-15 min weeding a day, keeps the ugly weeds away ;-). The vegetables are used during the summer months. We dry the herbs in August/September and then we sell them on a local market. Also during the summer the raspberry and blackcurrant have to be picked.

March – December: “Jack of all trades” (handyman)
For all sorts of jobs in and around house we need a handyman (male or female). Cutting grass (by tractor cutter and hand cutter), working on our “1.000-things to do-list”, doing small repairs are a few of the things we need help with.

April and May: Preparing wood for the winter
We need 'tough' ;-) men (male or female) that like to help us in preparing wood for the winter. This means moving trees (that were cut earlier in the year) to the farm, operating and feeding the sawing machine with wood, taking care that the firewood is filled in huge bags and storing these bags. It's hard and responsible work, but it's also very satisfying, outside in our beautiful nature. You will always work with 1 (sometimes 2) others.
*For the machines that are being used with this job, you will be given proper training in use and safety.

April and May: Hand feeding baby lambs
In spring we are surrogate parents for small lambs. They need to be hand fed several times during the day and night.

May – September: Helping with organizing activities for children, Café and B&B
Summer camps for children are being held in the last week of June and the second week of August. We need help in preparing and taking part in organizing the activities for the children (in the age of 9-13). If you have experience with working with children in this age, or if you are studying to be teacher or something similar, we invite you to be a part of this. We are also having open farm-days in May and August/September, where we invite kinder gardens and children from around. For the visitors there is a small café available where we are serving homemade traditional cakes and drinks.

June – August: Painting
In these lovely summer months when nature is really 'awakening' it's so nice to be outside and doing some outdoor jobs. This year it's time that the 'house for the older generation' is painted. So we are looking for persons that have red ;-) fingers and like to help us. The job isn't that hard but asks for some accuracy. Some experience with holding a paint brush would be helpful.

September and October: Cleaning out the forest
In the autumn months we need help in cleaning out our forest. Although summer is now quickly going to an end, it's still enjoyable to be busy outside, especially in the forest. Lots of colors, fresh air and maybe you spot a dear (or even better a moose). Very suitable job for nature lovers (male or female).
*For the machines that are being used with this job, you will be given proper training in use and safety.

If you are interested in one (or more) of these projects and are available (full or partly) in the indicated time frame, please send us a message which contains at least the following information:

• Short description of yourself.
• Which projects have your interest and what are your experiences with that kind of work.
• What is your availability (which time frame).
• Do you have experience with handling horses
• Do you have any references (if you still don't have any feedback)

* We prefer single travelers over couples or fellow travelers.
* We do not accommodate vegans.
* We prefer accommodating people that can handle horses.

Besides these specific projects there are some routine jobs which we all share the burden according to a daily schedule that we make together every week:

• Taking care of the animals (especially the horses) on the farm.
• Preparing dinner (since we mostly eat together, everybody helps in turn).
• Some help in keeping the place (areas/rooms that everybody uses) clean.

* The most important thing for us – because there usually will be more ww-ers around here – is that you are a social person, a team player. Somebody that can do things individually if he has to, but also realizes he is part of a group of people that is spending time together. It’s a big plus if you play an instrument – and bring it :-)

Langues parlées

Norwegian and english (Anne Helene some german, and Thea some spanish)

Hébergement

There are a few possibilities here:

• A small (one room) traditional cabin with sharing shower and toilet with the family. It is a very quiet and cozy cabin with a 'green' roof and it lays just a few meters from the main house. Perfect for nature lovers.
• A separated room in the 'house for the older generation'. There are 3 brand new rooms available on the ground floor, with a shared bathroom and toilet. A kitchen is also in there which is mainly used as B&B facility and for the pupils. The apartment on the first floor is rented out.

In all cases you are sharing household with the family.

* Because rooms are sometimes for short periods used for B&B, it depends on the situation what possibilities are available.

We also have a mountain farm. It is one of five mountain farms situated in the same area, within the borders of "Langsua" National park at the entrance to Jotunheimen, 970 m.a.o. Spåtind is the highest mountain in the area, 1414 m.a.o Together with the community, a museum and the owners and keepers of the mountain farms, we are planning to start a new project, to protect the nature, and restore the old buildings in the area.

Autres choses...

Lillehammer (the 1994 Olympic city, and youth Olympics host city in 2016) is a 15 minute bus ride away (bus stops 200 meters from the farm). We are close to a lot of winter sports activities and it takes about 2,5 hours to drive to Oslo (the capitol of Norway). There is a lot of beautiful nature around us (we have bicycles, skis and a kick sledge available). The "Langsau" national park is close by. Shop/Post office is approx. 1 kilometer away.

We enjoy both Norwegian food traditions, as well are we curious to learn more about foreign food traditions that new workers bring to our home. Vegetarian food is something that we also have learned much about throughout the years.

If you are interested, I have built up a broad network from various jobs and can be helpful with providing you the information you need in order to try to get paid work. In the past I’ve also been enjoying volunteering as a refugee guide for a woman from Eritrea.

Informations complémentaires

Accès Internet
Accès Internet limité
Nous avons des animaux
Nous sommes fumeurs

Nombre d'heures d'aide bénévole attendues

In return for board and lodging we expect 25 hours per week (approx. 5 hours a day). We like to look at it in a flexible way, so if you want to make more hours one day and less the other, that's an option. Please keep in mind that this should be a win-win

Photos

My Photo Album

Cliquer pour agrandir.

The farm from the air
The farm from the air
an old house for foodstorage is now the farm museum
an old house for foodstorage is now the farm museum
The mainhouse, thimber originally from 1666, with an appartment
The mainhouse, thimber originally from 1666, with an appartment
The garden cabin, for guests and workers
The garden cabin, for guests and workers
The house for the older generation built in 1966. A new appartment is being built in the basement
The house for the older generation built in 1966. A new appartment is being built in the basement
From the farm museum
From the farm museum
An overwiewpicture of the mouintainfarmarea
An overwiewpicture of the mouintainfarmarea
The ideal summer for everyone - both on two and four legs ;-)
The ideal summer for everyone - both on two and four legs ;-)
Thea and one of her best friends on the farm
Thea and one of her best friends on the farm
Host ref number: 166361988842

Feedback left about host

Veuillez vous connecter pour laisser votre feedback.

Bookmark and Share