Wildlife, the outdoors, great views and good food, Australia

updated

Country:

Workaway Host rating
Last Activity
25/04/2015

2015

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
2016




  • Description

    Description

    If you love wildlife, the outdoors, great views and good food, send us an email. No smokers or vegetarians thank you. Check out our site at ironbarkgrange.com.au and the blog on this site which has a few videos of what we are about.

    Please note: WE DO NOT TAKE SMOKERS OR VEGETARIANS.

    The property is located 60km South of Brisbane and 20km West of the Gold Coast on the upper North slope of Mt Tamborine, 320m above sea level. We are surrounded by National Parks and abundant wildlife. The property is 8.35Ha with a sub-tropical climate and has great country views to the North up to 120km on a clear day.

    We also have a tennis court, an outdoor cobb pizza oven, chooks/geese, two dalmatian dogs, a vegetable garden and about 300 fruit trees. Work outside is a major part of what we do so expect to be outside on a rural property as part of the experience.

    The design of the property has been along Permaculture principles. This includes rainwater collection, composting waste disposal, integration of animals and gardens, integrated pest management and the use of limited chemicals is done in a sustainable manner.

    The house is designed and built by ourselves. It is large and modern and has been constructed using high mass walls and floors, good insulation in the roof, walls and double glazing throughout. Careful attention has been paid to window shading to minimise solar gain in summer and allow some heating in Winter.

    We transport our helpers on their day off to Tamborine mountain (a major tourist attraction) or the nearest transport centre so that they can expore the area. Wireless and hard wire internet is made available to all our helpers.

    We pick up our helpers from the Beenleigh Bus Transit Centre, under the big roof of the centre. This is in Beenleigh, approximately 25km South of Brisbane and is next to the Beenleigh Train station.

    We love lamb roasts, cuisine from different lands and good wine. Come and share the experience with us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practise

  • Help

    Help

    We have had about 350 working guests on the property and the family has enjoyed the cultural exchange of food and ideas. We ask our guest helpers to work 6 days a week for 5-6 hours a day. The work is varied and includes things such as: construction work, wood working, harvesting, weeding, brush cutting, painting, planting, cleaning and cooking. We usually work early in the morning and late in the afternoon to avoid the hottest part of the day.

    No smokers or vegetarians thank you. (If you are a smoker you will be asked to leave!) We prefer our helpers to stay 2 weeks or more. Work outside is a major part of what we do so expect to be outside on a rural property as part of the experience.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the family home in a bedroom by yourself or shared with other helpers depending on how many we have with us at the time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours per day plus shared domestic help


Photos

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 15987544484c

Feedback left by and about host

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Heng

Excellent
(Excellent)

No show
(Negative)

by Anais

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Andrea

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.
by Nina

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Astrid Brok

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Andrea

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.
by Alexis

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.
by Jennifer

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Jesse

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.
by Carina

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Nanneke

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

by Marisa

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Negative
(Negative)

by Lauren

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts