Please use your browser's back button.

Have Fun Developing 5 acres on Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada

Country: Canada

Workaway Host rating
14
Last Activity
20/10/2014

Description

We are developing 5 acres on Salt Spring Island in beautiful British Columbia, Canada. We are building new garden areas and improving those that we started over the last 4 years. A lot of the work will be related to digging new areas, planting, mixing soil, etc.

We are also requiring the assistance of a carpenter/builder as we have fences and gates to build and we are renovating certain areas of our buildings.

We eat very healthy with a lot from our gardens. We are mostly vegetarian. We prefer to take in one worker at a time.

We can offer very comfortable accommodations with internet. We have a full bath available in another building.

We are a retired couple and have a lot of energy and plans. No children.

We live in a very beautiful area near the ocean (5 minutes) and just above the best hiking trails on the island. There is a lot to do here on this island and Vancouver is very close and easy to get to. Most workers that have stayed with us have taken the time to visit Vancouver Island including Victoria, Tofino and other areas directly on the Pacific ocean.

Area

British Columbia

Type of help

Help with Eco project,
Farming,
General Maintenance,
Building,
Gardening

Help

Most of the work to be done is helping an experienced gardener work on our many gardens (fruit & Vegetable & landscaping) and an experienced builder renovate an existing structure including working on its foundation. We are also putting up rabbit & deer fences and building more gardens. Sometimes we work on creating paths in the bush down towards the ocean and building rock wall.

We have work year round but cannot host anyone for the first two weeks of July and for the first 2 weeks of September as we have a large friends and family gathering at that time.

Languages spoken

English, French

Accommodation

You will have your own accommodations including a comfortable bed in a well insulated building or in our travel trailer. Full bath in a nearby building. High speed internet connection and a gym.

What else ...

It would be better to have a male for this kind of work as there are many heavy objects to move (wood, logs, rocks, etc.). We are mostly vegetarian and eat very healthy meals.

We can provide the appropriate clothes to wear for those working during the rainy season here (December-February).

Some more information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Volunteering hours expected

at least 30 hours/week with great meals and fantastic environment on a unique island in return

Photos

Click to enlarge

Host ref number: 13443611564b

Feedback left about host

by Joanes
by James
by giovanni
by Julio Cesar
by Pablo
by Josef
by Arnaud
by Ricardo
by Janek

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share