Please use your browser's back button.

Jardinage, bricolage et autres menus travaux dans le Devon, GB

Pays: Royaume-Uni

Updated

Évaluation d'hôte Workaway
22
Activité récente
01.22.2015

Description

Hi and happy 2015!
We will have space for single volunteers from February on.
FEBRUARY need someone to help with house work who is able to clean to a high standard. Also to help with feeding and cleaning out chickens and a horse, and possibly some interior painting or some tidying in the garden.

MARCH / APRIL need someone who is happy to do some labouring (hard work) - digging, concreting, helping with maintenance and gardening.
Also some general maintenance and mowing and strimming, repairing a roof and feeding / cleaning a few hens, helping with the horses.

If you are interested contact us for a more detailed description of the work.

We are a musical family (traditional/folk/celtic) living in a village in the beautiful countryside of the South Hams. We work at home - restoring musical instruments and creating jewellery and some stained glass work. We have dogs, hens, ducks, and a horse. We are a few miles from beautiful beaches and surrounded by rolling Devon hills. There is good surfing in the area. The local town has all amenities and is a short drive away, or bus journey, or a 20 minute cycle ride. In the village we have a good shop and a great pub, just a short walk away. This is lovely country for those enjoying outdoor life / walking / water sports.

Région

England

Type d'aide

Jardinage,
Construction,
Entretien / Bricolage,
Aide à la maison,
Aide avec les animaux,
Aide avec les langues

Aide

We need some help in the garden, especially with weeding, tidying areas and vegetable growing, general maintenance work such as applying wood preservative, help with roof repairs, guttering. Also feeding / cleaning the hens and ducks and collecting eggs, and a bit of dog walking and grooming, a bit of mucking out and grooming horses. We also need help with cleaning and housework.

Langues parlées

English / a little French

Hébergement

Own bedroom with bunk beds. Wifi available. Shared bathroom with shower. All meals / food for meals provided.

Autres choses...

Volunteers must be OK with boisterous dogs and generally respect and like animals.
Please note- we eat a mostly vegetarian diet, with some fish and only very occasionally locally produced meat, so you must be happy with this.
Volunteers must be physically fit, strong, willing to work in all weathers (being England and often wet) and have suitable clothing / footwear for outdoor work, and must be able to get up and start work by 9 am on working days
Breakfast (cereal, toast) and lunch (sandwiches, soup, light meals) are usually do it yourself meals unless I have prepared something, but we do provide a good evening meal when we eat together. We will of course provide tea and coffee, soft drinks etc. and the occasional beer. We enjoy good food, home made bread, local produce.
All volunteers must have their own insurance.

We would especially welcome musicians/ music lovers and hope you would enjoy coming with us to regular local pub music sessions.
There should be an opportunity to experience some traditional English Morris dancing and traditional music sessions in local pubs. We love to take our guests out to local pubs with us and buy a drink or two, but please don't expect us to buy all your drinks!
There could be an opportunity for riding for an experienced rider.

We appreciate our guests understanding that we may want to have quiet times to ourselves occasionally.

We are 3 miles from Kingsbridge and there is a limited bus service, hourly through the day, other than that you will need to walk, cycle or have other form of own transport if you want to get out and about independently. We can offer a lift into Kingsbridge some days. We have a small dinghy available if you want to explore the creeks.
We love to show our guests the local sights and you will have ample free time for exploring yourself.
In Kingsbridge you can hire a kayak or go paddle boarding; there is surfing 15 mins by car; other water sports; great walking (coast path 4 miles); boat hire. Kingsbridge offers cafes, pubs, a wonderful small cinema, a nightclub, market twice weekly.

As well as the volunteering work agreed, we do expect our volunteers to muck in with everyday household tasks like washing up, keeping everywhere tidy.

Informations complémentaires

Accès Internet
Accès Internet limité
Nous avons des animaux
Nous sommes fumeurs

Nombre d'heures d'aide bénévole attendues

20 - 25 hours per week

Photos

My Photo Album

Cliquer pour agrandir.

Jose from Spain with Chris
Jose from Spain with Chris
The dogs - Molly and Tess
The dogs - Molly and Tess
Traditional Morris dancing in Kingsbridge
Traditional Morris dancing in Kingsbridge
One of our beautiful beaches
One of our beautiful beaches
Us!
Us!
Beach in the evening
Beach in the evening
Where we live!
Where we live!
Part of the garden
Part of the garden
Louise riding Willow
Louise riding Willow
Host ref number: 12237183624d

Feedback left by and about host

de Leonor
de Chloe
de Christina
de Sara
de Isabella
de Katie
de Francesco
de David Eduardo
de JIlly
de ander
de Gaia
de shirley
de shirley
de Theresa
de JOSÉ

Veuillez vous connecter pour laisser votre feedback.

Bookmark and Share