Please use your browser's back button.

Bed & breakfast in rural location near city of Viseu. Help in the house and on the land Portugal

Country: Portugal

Updated

Workaway Host rating
22
Last Activity
31/08/2014

Description

We moved from the UK in 2005. We restored an old farmhouse (Quinta) and now have a Bed and breakfast with 6 suites with room for 16 guests. We have our own vineyard with 6000 vines.The property has an area of 7 hectare with the river Pavia along one part of the property. We have 2 dogs,Womble and Lottie,(bit of an over grown puppy)We also have 3 cats.
We have our own chickens (for eggs) ducks and a goose
We have a large veg garden where we grow most of our fruit and veg for our guests. We make all sorts of jams and chutney.

Area

Coimbra and Center

Type of help

Help with Computers / internet,
Helping with Tourists,
Animal care,
Help in the house,
Help with Eco project,
Farming,
General Maintenance,
Cooking / shopping,
Building,
Gardening

Help

We are looking for (2 / couple, one male as some strength is needed) to help with the estate management and working on the vines and our veg and fruit garden. Some help in the house with cleaning and housekeeping duties. You will normally eat with us and our guests in the evenings.

The work is ongoing throughout the year.

We are a small traditional working vineyard .In the vineyards you will learn how we tend the vines and also be involved in Wine tasting, blending and then bottling.
Diverse things like Tractor driving (cutting the grass in the fields) to learning how we smoke foods in our traditional whole oak smoke house.
Chain saw knowledge would be useful, plenty of tree /logging work to do

Help with improving our internet marketing via are own website and social network sites. Good project to work on when it is raining!

You will have opportunities to cook (this is optional but in the past we have had Workawayer’s enjoying the fun making new menus from ideas brought with them) and learn the making of many local dishes as well as jams and chutneys.

You will often go off with one of us when we go to shop for provisions.

Non smokers

Languages spoken

English

Accommodation

Own bedroom suite with private shower/bathroom

What else ...

We are located about 400 meters from the local village of Parada de Gonta. Post office village stores and cafes as well as an ATM are in the village. The city of Viseu is about 10km away.
We have WiFi throughout the house and a laptop as well as a VoIP phone (free calls to land lines)

Some more information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Volunteering hours expected

Some days if outside with good sunny weather we work 8 hours.

Photos

.

Click to enlarge

Host ref number: 12191231114a

Feedback left about host

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share