Volunteer in the countryside of central Portugal in a family run farm.


Workaway Host rating
Last Activity



  • Description


    Hi! We are looking for people to stay with us for about 3 weeks (or possibly longer).

    The farm produces mainly for self-consumption and that includes fruit, vegetables, nuts, olive oil, wine, cheese and, as my parents are not vegetarians, meat. We have 5 dogs, 8 cats, chicken, ducks, goats, sheep, rabbits and pigs.

    We live in the countryside of central Portugal. The farm already belonged to my great-grandparents. In 1999, after having been abandoned for 25 years, my parents José (81) and Anita (71) started to rebuild it. With the birth of our first son Matias (now 4 years), I Gabriela (35 - Portuguese) and my husband Adam (39 - German), moved into the old part of the house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Help


    We would like you to help us for around 5 hours per day. In the summer, work has to be done mainly in the early mornings and/or late afternoons because of the hot weather, unless there would be the possibility of doing something on a very sheltered place ie. in the woods.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, English and German

  • Accommodation


    We can have lunch together (ovo-lacto-vegetarian diet). However, because of bed time for the children, we would like you to have dinner on your own. You can have produce from the farm like eggs, cheese, meat, fruit, veg and jam and we would also buy you basics like bread, rice, pasta, sugar… but you would have to buy your own luxury goods e.g. chocolate, crisps, cookies, beer or shampoo. We go into town for shopping once a week.

    We can accommodate 1 person up to a small family in a separate house that consists of 1 double bedroom, 1 living-room/kitchenet (fully furnished) with a sofa-bed for 2, and 1 toilet with shower. There is the possibility to use the washing machine. There is a fire place in the living room but no other heating system. Electric heating can be arranged for infants or when being sick in bed. We also have a small caravan (QEK Junior) that is far away from the farm buildings if you prefer a closer contact with nature. There is bed linnen and towels. Also, you can check your e-mails at my parents´ office.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The farm is close to a small village where you can find a very small convenience shop and café.

    Sertã, a town of ca. 5 000 inhabitants, is about 8 km far away. Apart from the high street shops and the market, there are two supermarkets, the county library, a swimming pool, river beach, a small cinema, bus station (buses going to Lisbon, Coimbra, Porto), post office and a health center.

    In another town, also about 10 km far away, there is an adventure sports and tourism company if you like canoeing, mountain biking, hiking, or abseiling.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours per weekday


Click images to enlarge

My father and my son with our house and my parent's house in the backgroung
Our house
A sunset in the Summer
Host ref number: 117842918879

Feedback left by and about host


by Farina


by Linda


We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.


Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts