Please use your browser's back button.

Help on farm B&B in Normandy

Country: France

Updated

Workaway Host rating
8
Last Activity
25/07/2014

Description

Hi,

We're a French/English family from Normandy and we're looking for a single helper or two friends who can come and stay with us for the summer - ideally from the end of July to mid September.

Normandy is hosting the World Equestrian Games in Caen in late August/early September and we are providing accommodation to Team GB. We therefore have an extremely busy schedule prior to and during this period and need some enthusiastic team players to join us!

The help will be varied but will include painting, gardening, helping with breakfast/catering, helping with horses/ponies/poultry, cleaning around the house/guest house and generally being a team player! It will probably be fairly crazy but we hope that it will be a lot of fun too!

In return for your help, we'll look after you as one of the family. You'll have a comfortable bedroom, with free WiFi access and great food. You must be able to live in a busy, noisy household with children (6, 9 and 12), three cats and a crazy little schnauzer! We ask our volunteers to happily participate in the general day to day stuff like laying/clearing the table, loading/unloading dishwasher etc...

We produce and eat our own meat, poultry, dairy produce, fruit and veg and Kate is a keen cook so you won't go hungry. However, we would prefer not to have to cater for special diets. There's no smoking in the house or buildings but other than that, we are easy to get along with and like meeting people and sharing stories. Driving licence an advantage as there are sometimes errands to run.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Area

Picardy

Type of help

Language practise,
Helping with Tourists,
Animal care,
Help in the house,
Farming,
General Maintenance,
Cooking / shopping,
Babysitting / child care,
Building,
Gardening

Help

You must be able to live with animals and if you have experience handling them/mucking out/bedding etc, that would be great.

For the Summer of 2014, we can only accept volunteers who can stay from late July until mid-September. We can't offer 1 or 2 week stays, sorry!!

Some jobs will involve paint so bring clothes that can get dirty!

Languages spoken

French, English

Accommodation

Simple bedroom with a bathroom adjacent. You will be able to share the rest of the house, which is huge, so there is plenty of space for all of us!

What else ...

We produce and eat our own meat, poultry and dairy produce and love eating healthy food so you should be prepared to fit in with that.

Initial short stay, extendable if we all get along!

Noisy, busy family household with 3 noisy cats and 3 small noisy children! Helpers are considered as a member of the family so will be expected to assist with things like laying and clearing the dinner table etc.....

Non smokers preferred.

Some more information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Volunteering hours expected

Maximum

Photos

Click to enlarge

Oakie
Oakie
Freddy with helper Kelly
Freddy with helper Kelly
Host ref number: 11221312494a

Feedback left about host

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Bookmark and Share