Bitte nutzen Sie die zurück Taste Ihres Browsers.

Helfe auf einer Farm

Land: Australien

Workaway Host rating
7
Zuletzt online
07.04.2014

Beschreibung

Hi we are Wouter and Elyse,

Wouter is a CSA organic vegetable farmer coming from Belgium and Elyse is vet from Tasmania
We have a newborn baby and are looking for some help around the place and obviously
we like good company

We have a block of land on which we are starting up an organic certified farm, with the focus on vegetables, production start within about a year.

As we have only recently moved in this place there is a fair bit of work in setting up.

Elyse grew up around this place and has together with her parents a small herd of milking goats for home use and blackberry control. Living self sustainable has allways been a major part of daily life.

Wouter had a succesfull CSA vegetable farm in Belgium (for which this workaway page was use first) feeding more then 600 people for 10 months a year and have quite a few woofers usually.
Now we decided to live here in Tasmania and build up a new farm.

Lorinna is a pretty amazing part of Tasmamia, it lies at the very top of the Forth river, just out the lake st clair- cradle mountain National Park at lake Cethana,
We have a lot of wildlife, beautifull forests, a beautifull lake for swimming and looking at, nice views over the mountains and Cradle Mountain.
We live at about little less then an hours drive from Sheffield.
Picking up can obviously be arranged.

We live off grid, using solar panels for electricity and hot water
firewood from our block for cooking, heating and hot water.
delicious water from a creek.
dry toilet

We have an established orchard and a vegetable garden (currently only for home use) we grow some mushrooms.
we make a bit of cheese from the goatsmilk and do a few different ferments ( like saurkraut,beer,wine,..) preserve our food all sorts of ways, ...

This summer we're doing some renovations on the house, building a cob pizza oven, installing our hydrowheel for electricity and most important, expecting a baby :)

Bits and pieces get started on the farm;
setting up compost piles for later use in the seedling nursery,
taking some trees down for clearing some fencelines,
milling trees for building timber, chipping some of those brances for compost use,
mowing for clearing and compost use.
building some sheds and fences
getting the vegetable paddock derocked by machine.
building some walls with those rocks
...

The current fotos are still from the farm in Belgium

Region

Kentish, North West Coast Tasmania

Arten von Arbeit

Hausarbeiten,
Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten,
Landarbeit,
handwerkliche Arbeiten,
kochen/einkaufen,
Bauarbeiten,
Gartenarbeit

Arbeit

There's a wide range of jobs that need to be done, we're very happy to suit jobs to your liking where possible, we really like having a good atmosphere where everybody is pleased about all conditions.

gesprochene Sprachen

English, Dutch, French (all fluently)

Unterkunft

a room in the house or a tent in the garden( as agreed up front in communications) We're about to set up a large yurd for our guests and volunteer accomodation

we are vegetarian

There is wifi which can be used ( a bit slow though)

We have one very kind dog who lives outside and one kitten who lives in and outside

we can sign your second working holiday visa

Etwas mehr Information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Arbeitszeiten

5 hours per day 6 days per week, as agreed

Weitere Bilder

My Photo Album

Klicken Sie auf ein Bild für eine größere Ansicht.

Host ref number: 448814419157

Feedback left about host

Bitte melde Dich an, um eine Bewertung abzugeben.

Bookmark and Share