Bitte nutzen Sie die zurück Taste Ihres Browsers.

Besuche Gent, Belgien

Land: Belgien

Updated

Workaway Host rating
2
Zuletzt online
30.09.2014

Beschreibung

One well organized, comfortable & social home
search for
One well organized home manager-handyman maintenance/organization/responsibility (for long term stay) in Ghent (Belgium)

We live in a house situated in the city of Ghent, Belgium (less than 3 km from the City Historical Center) a really interesting, culturally rich and sparkling city of Belgium.
We are group of friends from different countries and we love this multicultural environment where the main keywords are: understanding and respect. The most of us are professionals between 20 and 30 yo (but age is not really an issue for anything).

At home there are always things to repair, maintain working and organize, we are looking for someone skilled who can think about it, something like an housekeeper but focused on the maintenance and organization of the house. He will have important responsibilities about the house and the van (car).
We are looking for someone who stays at least six months (the longer the better) , starting from now (or within few weeks).
We offer a private room, a bonus for food (you get money based on the tasks that you will do) and a bicycle.
You will be working in average 10 hours a week, you can schedule the works as you want (all on one day or spread out) and you will have time for your activities (extra job, studying, chilling out, traveling).
If you like self-organization it will be nice for you to live with us because you will get your own room and you will be independent in your works.

We believe that living together is not easy, but each of us has to do some effort in order to make everyday life at home enjoyable for everybody.
We are also sensible about ecology and we like to keep our home a place where we waste as less as possible (energy & products), we buy & sell second hand one of your tasks would be also to keep everybody motivated about it.
We appreciate to spend time together but nothing is forced (we try to share at least the sunday dinner together).
In case of any issue we are all open to democratic discussions.
We are all couchsurfing friendly.

Region

Gent

Arten von Arbeit

Hilfe mit Computer / Internet,
sonstige Arbeiten,
Hilfe mit Touristen,
Hausarbeiten,
Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten,
handwerkliche Arbeiten,
kochen/einkaufen,
Bauarbeiten,
Gartenarbeit

Arbeit

1) House Maintenance

Preventive maintenance (maintain the house working good: Change broken lights bulbs, keep doors open/close smoothly, fill the gaps if there is wind coming from a window, )
Fixing broken things (repair a broken sofa, repair dishwasher)
Electric/onic reparations (we have an hi-tech house, a lot of light sensors, fingerprint door, electric appliances)
Plumbing reparations (the plumbing system at home is easy to work on, made with “alpex”, you have eventually to install a sink, install some extra pipes, etc)
House appliances maintenance (check that the dishwasher gets cleaning cyclus regularly, clean filters of washing machine)
Making few extraordinary work to the house (paint, small building works)
Installation of new house equipment (dishwasher, washing machine, cabinets, curtains, hang a painting)
Paint on the walls (inside or outside)
Varnish wood (wooden floors, wooden cabinets)
Start the car once every couple of weeks and make oil/water check monthly.
If you can even make small reparation to the car then you are our favorite for sure!


2) House organization, cleaning and managing

Check the safety at home (smoke detectors, electric installation)
Check that is all OK with everybody at home and jump in for every problem.
Organize, order and clean where/when is needed.
Buy home shared products (soaps, paper, mop, brush...)
Control that the everybody follows the cleaning plan (eventually, you have to clean for the person who does not clean, then you get a bonus each time);
Help the neighbors (left and right side).


3) Guests

Welcome guests;
Prepare the room for them: clean the room, the sheets and the towels
(you will get a bonus for this task)


4) List unused stuff (average one item a week)

At home we sell our unused stuff, we have an online “shop” with our home stuff listed, you have to:
Take pictures of unused stuff,
List it on the site,
Answer to potential buyers,
Ship the item or arrange an appointment (to let them collect it at home)
(you get a bonus for this)


5) Post & Administration

Take post-mail and forward-scan it digitally via email.
Organize roommates switch (Appointments, Contact, room-switching);
Explain house rules to new housemates.

(All those tasks on the lists may look like a lot of work to you, actually it is not, because this are the POSSIBLE tasks that you will have to do, it just depend on the period. Anyway you work with your rhythm and there is no pressure on you, mostly no hard work required, maybe just few days a month there are more energy-requiring tasks).

gesprochene Sprachen

English, Italian, Dutch, French, Spanish, Hindi, Basque

Unterkunft

Offering:

Accommodation in a shared house in your own attic room (the room is quite small, not really hot in the winter (but you can improve it yourself!), about 6m2, on the 3rd floor).
All tools and equipment to work fast, smooth and without efforts.
Bicycle,
Hi-Tech (electronic devices and automation) & Comfortable house
Food is not provided, but you will get a bonus any time you do extra task (like this you have freedom of eating and cooking what you want), this bonus maybe not enough to get expensive food, but the more efficient you are the more bonus you get (you will get this bonus just if all the monthly task list is done properly), you get it for:
Guests
Extra Cleaning tasks
Selling stuff

Life at home:

You are going to live in a shared house with 5 or 6 persons (internationals professionals/students male/female between 18 - 30 years old)
You will be the only volunteer in the house (you are considered an housemate exactly as the others at home, the only difference is that you take care about the general maintenance of the house, the housemates rely on you for this)
Cleaning: you do your cleaning task (the kitchen/dishwasher) plus you check weekly that everybody is following the cleaning plan, you do the extra needed cleaning tasks (with bonus) and keep the house tidy.
Cooking/Eating: You are independent about eating, if we wish, we eat together once a week or more. (We do sometimes eat together but there is no rule for it: if someone feels like cooking for the others he just does it: autoregulation. We try to eat together every sunday, also to discuss about practical things)
Normally at home there is nobody before 15.00 and everybody goes to sleep at around midnight.
Our place is a social house, we like to be in contact with people.
The most people is quiet.



Tasks schedule:

A certain amount of tasks a month agreed (on the beginning of the month together) agreed with us(anyway you have high independence and the most important is that the tasks are done, you are free to organize how/when to do it during the month).
You will get the extra bonus just if you complete ALL the agreed tasks.



Staying period:

We look for someone to stay as long as possible (1 year would be already really good).
We can make a test period for two weeks.
We look for someone starting from now already, but if you wanna come within a month is possible.

You should notify me the willing to leave the house (and the project) at least three month ahead (the best would be as early as possible, three months would also be a good notice period), then you should spend some time (one or two months) with the new handyman to explain him how it works at home.
We are looking for just one person.

Was noch ...

General info:
LOCATION :

Address:
Walstraat 9050 Gent (Ledeberg) - Close to the tram 4 end-stop "Moscou"

Nearby Interest Points:

Train station (Gent-St.P.): 10 min (by bike);

University of Gent: 10 min (by bike);

City center: 10 min (by bike);

Buses passing nearby: 300mt far (4; 9; 27; 28; 94; 96; N2; 41; 42; 43; 44; 48);

Tram nr. 4: 200mt far (connects to city center);

Tram nr. 21; 21; 22; 24: 350mt far (connects to city center);

Shops: 300mt far (Colruyt, Delheize, etc...);

Fitness: 300mt far ("Just Fit").


THE HOUSE:

Nice building, nice places around, at home is quiet with some green at the over-side,
It is NOT POSSIBLE TO PARK CARS IN THE AREA, we just have one parking space for our van.

The house is big (250m2) , two floors and with a lot of space.
In total we will be normally a maximum of 5 (nice)persons in the house, maybe less (it depends also on the expenses and period) we mostly look for housemates from different countries and with ages between 18-35.
As we are couchsurfers we have often guests.


House provided of:

HI-SPEED Wireless Internet: ADSL 100MB/s, the fastest connection of Belgium!
Common kitchen (super-accessorised with crockery and all kind of stuff: Bread machine, Coffee machine, 2 microwaves, hoven, 2 fry machines, kitchen robot, etc... if you take care of it you can use it all);
Common bathroom (each of us has his closet/compartment) ;
Second toilet on the first floor;
Big living-room;
Garden;
Washing machine/Dry machine;
Dishwasher;
Robot to clean the floor;
Fingerprint entrance door (you no need keys anymore!);
Parking space not available in the street (just 400 mt away).


EXTRAS:

- Guest room (where you can host for short periods friends and family)
- We just renovated the electric installation = safety
- We just made a new water installation + new boiler (water/heating) = comfort
- All the floors where the rooms are are just renovated! = nice aesthetic

MAIN HOUSE RULES:

- No smoking inside,
- Keep clean,
- No shoes at home,
- Keep tranquility at home (but we do organize sometimes parties!)
- Be social!

PS. Don’t be scared or get annoyed from all the lists or requirements in this page, it’s just that we try to inform you as much as possible about what to expect here.
If there is anything you want to discuss about the tasks or other things,just go ahead, we are flexible and open!

Etwas mehr Information

Internet access
Limited internet access
We have pets
We are smokers

Arbeitszeiten

3

Weitere Bilder

My Photo Album

Klicken Sie auf ein Bild für eine größere Ansicht.

Host ref number: 11429777334d

Feedback left about host

von Vladimir

Bitte melde Dich an, um eine Bewertung abzugeben.

Bookmark and Share